We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Ciao Bistro

Ciao Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Ciao is a wonderful dining experience. The new location in downtown Fernandina Beach is terrific and very chic. One of the best restaurants on Amelia Island!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MPC2of3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    212
    106
    25
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Hearty Appetite”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nice Italian Restaurant in downtown Fernandina Beach. Come with a hearty appetite because the portions are big and tasty. It was very crowded tonight and noisy since the Spring break crowd is in town but our server did an excellent job of making sure everything was just right. We ordered chicken Parmesan, eggplant Parmesan, pasta with seafood, and the pork Milanese. We all enjoyed our meals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pchee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband took me for my birthday to Ciao. It has amazing Italian food. A great wine list, service and a personal touch that is appreciated. We will be back :D

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marsha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice area, well below avg food”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had dinner at Ciao Bistro last night. Primarily as a result of TA reviews, concierge at the Omni and how cool the downtown area was. Atomosphere was nice and lively. Server was great, although a bit stuffy (I appreciate high end service, but at times it so didn't match the product that it just added to it being out of place).

House salad- nice combination of veggies, but the house dressing was greasy and plain.
Ceasar salad- plain and boring as well. Ceasar should be a bold and flavorfull dressing, it was not.
The fried mozzerala was okay, but the side of some sort of lime green pesto mayo was strange.
The real disapointment came with mains and desserts.
Mains- Mushroom tortelini- cold in middle, alfredo sauce on top was from a jar (gross!).
Side of Italian sausage in red sauce was good and became our main meal.
Lasagna- was good. Nothing special but was above average.
Fresh catch and veggies, Cobi with grilled shrimp with mixed broccoli, squash, zuccini. All where gray and oily. The color of both dishes was totally unaccaptable. We picked from each dish. The overall taste of it was "okay", nothing off or bad, but just simply NOT good. The waiter did not ask what we thought of the food (so we did not offer it up, I never send things back and only give feedback if asked), asked if we wanted it boxed up (we said simple no), cleared our dishes and I think knew we weren't happen but did not want to confront it. We ordered two desserts to split. Terimasu (sp?) which was proclaimed as homemade and a lemon zest. Lemon was very good. The Terimasu was terrible. Tasted like cafeteria pudding made sloppily in an individual pudding cup. The lady fingers had been frozen and thawed into a water mess in the middle. Again, two bites taken from the food and the waiter happily scooped it up and brought us our check.
Paid and left... on the way out we passed the owner, hanging with some locals (appeared to have been drinking and was a bit load). Some people may find an ancented owner hanging with the guests charming, but I did not. Especially when someone was in the lobby (as we left) giving the waiters a piece of their mind (we did not catch exactly what was happening but the customer was hot and was defused by our waiter who asked him to have the conversation privately). Customer stormed out and up the street. Moments later the owner came running into the street barking at us (assuming we had just dressed down his staff). The waitress called him back, saying that was not the right person. Never an apology to us or oh I am sorry for yelling at you, etc... It was a pure mess. As we turned the corner to leave in our car, the kitchen staff was breaking down and the back ally was a mess. Stay away from this dump. It is a great location, a good idea and terrible execution.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris6585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Outrageous food, great service”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had been to Ciaos many times at their old location and always enjoyed the atmosphere and food. Although the restaurant was crowded, the service was wonderful and the food was delicious. The shrimp scampi was distinctive and wonderful. Some of the others ordered the specials. Everyone was extremely happy with their choices. The service was excellent!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zanpride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Ciao Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing