We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect family dinner for Christmas Eve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Bistro

Ciao Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
D.C.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect family dinner for Christmas Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We relied on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Excellent service, great food! Good for vegetarians with lots of salad and pasta options. Family-friendly. Slightly formal and more expensive than some other options, but well worth it for our special occasion. Huge portions left us too full for dessert. Homemade pasta was superb. Pesto cream sauce, amazing. The thinnest crust pizza ever and excellent!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NatureGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    175
    88
    17
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
124 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Superb and some very creative upscale Italian creations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The REAL test for a good (Italian) restaurant is the CROWD willing to wait to be seated because the restaurant is so popular that there are no empty tables to "just walk in and be seated" at 7PM on a Sunday night! Welcome to Ciao Bistro! I'm not sure WHY Pompeo's failed to prosper in this prime location, but Ciao Bistro has relocated to this site and has kept it Italian... fine Italian! In our party of four, two had chicken parmesan, one had the eggplant parmesan... deemed very tasty. I decided to have the "chicken ciao" which was an excellent red wine reduction with sausage, onion, mushrooms & succulent tender chicken breast! The side I chose was a delightful eggplant saute that was a daily special. Good choices... I'll be going back next visit to Amelia Island for the "chicken ciao" no doubt!
According to our carriage guide, Luigi's had closed & when Pompeo's folded, that left the downtown historic area without an Italian fare offering... except that Ciao Bistro relocated downtown after a few years in a different Fernandina Beach location. It might also be noted that Ciao Bistro is owned by a chef who decided to open HIS OWN PLACE after being chef at the Ritz-Carleton resort in Fernandina Beach! No surprise that a former Ritz-Carleton chef runs a fine dining restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grantg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our second visit one year later”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We like to visit Fernandina Beach for vacation about once a year. Last year we really enjoyed our meal at the old Ciao Bistro when it was out in a strip mall and we were really looking forward to another great meal. We were not disappointed. It was better than last year. We really enjoyed the new location downtown close to everything. We were told that they had just moved in the last 3 weeks and you would have never know it. Everything was running smoothly in the clean and cozy dining area. The service was great and the food delicious. We are already looking forward to our next trip and another great meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthglennBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic dinner for two.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service. We sat at a table in the bar area, which actually proved to be quieter and more intimate than the crowded formal dining area. Food was delicious and moderately priced for a special night out. Server gave us the right amount of attention. Only restaurant in area that was packed on a Sunday night.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sbt7833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Lovely new location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

First visit to the new location. Clean, cozy and very nice. Went without reservations on a Thursday evening and were seated promptly. Busy but not packed. Waiter was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. The wine list was very limited and our choice was ok. The meal made up for anything missing with the wine. The three of us each had something different and all were very pleased. Tiramisu was fabulous! Will definitely be visiting again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FredDebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Ciao Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing