We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Romantic dinner for two.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ciao Bistro

Ciao Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Ciao Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic dinner for two.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service. We sat at a table in the bar area, which actually proved to be quieter and more intimate than the crowded formal dining area. Food was delicious and moderately priced for a special night out. Server gave us the right amount of attention. Only restaurant in area that was packed on a Sunday night.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sbt7833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    191
    98
    20
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Lovely new location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

First visit to the new location. Clean, cozy and very nice. Went without reservations on a Thursday evening and were seated promptly. Busy but not packed. Waiter was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. The wine list was very limited and our choice was ok. The meal made up for anything missing with the wine. The three of us each had something different and all were very pleased. Tiramisu was fabulous! Will definitely be visiting again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FredDebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level Contributor
130 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Dine like family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our party of nine arrived on time, reservation confirmed, and we waited 15 minutes.
It was like visiting a relative who just wasn't that punctual I guess. We truly didn't mind as Ciao is a bustling yet cozy place where everyone is friendly, like your favorite Aunt's kitchen.

The owner came out to greet us, speaking Italian to the eldest member of our party who was our local, Italian connection. He had to speak up a bit since the place is a bit noisy with conversations commingling around us. We were seated soon enough and bottles of wine, reasonably priced were on the table with some bread.

The menu featured the expected salads, pasta dishes and appetizers. We had calamari for the table. It was good, not great. Many of us chose the special, a red snapper with shrimp in tomato sauce. Again, good, not superb. What makes this restaurant so popular is the service, the individual attention, the easy pace, the family-like atmosphere.

One of our party was celebrating a birthday and the owner poured little glasses of moscato di asti for the table and served the birthday girl a wedge of cheesecake with candle. We all sang happy birthday to her delight.

All in all a delightful meal with good food, good company and a bill which won't break the bank (about 50 dollars a person with wine and tip). I can recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wladovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was our first visit but we came with friends who had dined at Ciao at this new location the night before and at the previous location several times, needless to say it was as good as advertised and we were very satisfied with our meals.we were seated about 45 minutes past our reservation time but this was o.k. As it gave us some time for some good conversation with our friends.the place was packed but the service was very good and our food arrived promptly.The calamari appetizer was EXCELLENT!!.if you are in the mood for Italian I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elwood42051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, FL
Level Contributor
102 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Qestionable if I'd Go Back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Seated in "bar" for dinner: people gathered next to table witing to be seated and I felt as though we were in a cafareria with all the noise. The Chicken Marsala chicken was not the best.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NanaMHilliard_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Ciao Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing