We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bigger and Better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ciao Bistro

Ciao Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bigger and Better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have been to Ciao 3 times at the new location and we think Luca has hit a home run!! (unlike MRossJax, I will at least spell the restaurant name correctly). We were regulars at the Yulee location and now are following Luca to his new location on Centre Street. In the newly remodeld surroundings and with a bigger and better kitchen, he is putting out great tasting food. The new menu offers some nice choices for all apetite sizes and with ample variety. Luca gives you the choice to dive into a hearty veal chop or steak or make many options and just sample smaller items and graze. His staff is consistently friendly and attentive...Talia and Piper are awesome!! It is always great to see a local business succesfully grow and be able to continue to offer a quality product to visitors and local regulars alike. Our favorites include the thin crust pizzas, lasagne, roasted beet salad, meatballs, the mussels, and the chicken Ciao. He added many nice wines to the wine list with choices from Italy, Spain, California, and more. Ciao is definitley worth the trip!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dipper_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    185
    98
    19
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A gem in northeast Florida!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Best pizza ever! I'm not a fan of crust so the paper thin crust of Ciao's pizza was just right for me. We were in a hurry to make a movie but wanted to try Ciao as 2 people had recommended it. We were not disappointed!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Washington_DcSrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outgrown Ability In A New Loaction... Food Good Not Great!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I hate to give my old favorite resturaunt a bad review... But... Luca, the owner has far outgrown his ability to manage what used to be a quaint, authentic Italian Bistro. This is only the second review I have written on Trip Advisor. The first was an Outstanding review foar a particular resturaunt.... This one.... NOT so much!!! We have now been two times to Caio's new location in downtown Fernandina. Unfortunately, both experiences have been far less than average from a service standpoint. The food... Good but not Great. And.... Certainly not what it used to be!!! We were very tolerant the first visit because it was Luca's(owner) second night in a new location and you have to expect any resturaunt to work out through opening "glitches" with new staff etc. I convinced our reluctant group to give Caio a second chance last night. That experience was far worse than the first. Luca has lost his touch... and his flare for customer service which was his whole secret to success at his old location. Luca, and Caio, had developed an incredible and unmatched following of repeat customers and FRIENDS because of his personality and attention to detal. Expansion and the new location has gone to his head. His local following is dwindling fast!! Our experience last night was terrible and only made worse by Luca's response to our table of six. It will be a LONG time before we revisit our OLD favorite resturaunt. Best of luck!! Luca.... Never forget what used to be your secret to success.... Customer Service!! Anyone can put food on a plate and a check on the table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FernJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach Fl
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Ciao Bistro has opened in the last two weeks and so far it is vastly superior to it's former Yulee location. It still doesn't take reservations but will and also they hope to have a full bar.The menue is extensive and so far my wife and I have tryed eight different items and each was excellent! A good wine list , excellent service and fair prices.Lucca the owner and ever present manager has hit a home run and I hope he continues to strive for perfection. . Understand they may open for lunch in the future

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jadolanjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sweet time, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Arrived early for dinner, spotted the best seat in the house at the windowless two-seater. It was just the two of us, me and my 7-year-old daughter, after a long day at Egan's Creek and Fort Clinch. Although we did not know at the time we were speaking to the owner outside on the bench, he assured us, YES, you are dressed perfectly fine (we were casual). My daughter was thrilled with the "Oh soo yummy" kid-sized fettucinni alfredo with chicken and chocolate cake. I had the Zuppa seafood dish of scallops, shrimp, calamari, and poached salmon (that literally melted in my mouth) really incredible, and tiramisu. The owner was very attention to everyone who came in, and by 7pm the restaurant was filled on a Monday evening. Our best dinner for sure. Thanks for a wonderful and memorable meal!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank landlockedinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Ciao Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing