We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local restaurant!”
Review of Sandy Bottoms Beach Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Sandy Bottoms Beach Bar & Grill
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Amelia Island's only TRUE restaurant that is located directly on the beach and has oceanfront dining where you can put your toes in the sand. There is a large covered patio right on the the beach, tables in the sand, and the Ocean Oasis Beach Bar that has the only unobstructed view of the beach and ocean on the island. There is live entertainment on the patio almost every night, featuring everything from Reggae to original music by some of the best local artists in town.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
“Great local restaurant!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Tonight was our second visit, and we enjoyed it very much. We had the cheesesteak, which was delicious, and we had the pizza special(white pizza with artichoke, spinach, mushrooms and feta cheese) Wonderful! Anthony, our server, was friendly and attentive. Overall a great experience! We will be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    294
    173
    56
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Should be better”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This place has awesome location and I have stayed across the street annually with a large group of friends for the last 8 yrs. Food is adequate bar food type stuff and they have pitchers of beer and bar drinks that meet the needs of our crowd. Service and management are hit and miss annually and this year was a total miss. Service was rude and I got the idea that although we were arriving 2 hrs prior to closing time that they wished we would leave so they could leave early. Really it was so bad our crowd of 10 in an otherwise empty bar opted to leave after about 20 minutes.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Since this restaurant is right at the beach you cannot beat the view. We sat out on the deck and thoroughly enjoyed the breeze and view. We were promptly given our drinks but 45 minutes after ordering our food we asked another server if we were ever going to get our food. She quickly came back and said "look what I found". The food was ok but nothing special. Our original server came flying by and asked if everything was ok. This kind of service is not ok. Ten minutes after we finished eating another server came along and asked if we needed anything. We said we were waiting for our bill. He promptly brought it to us. This is the worst service we have had at any restaurant in years. I will never go there hungry again. This was our first impression of Fernandina Beach. We hope other restaurants here have better service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hacheta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food and view”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just a short walk from our hotel and right on the beach. There was a singer/guitar player for entertainment, plus a spectacular view of the full moon. Food was excellent. Server was prompt and friendly. Only drawback is being outdoors, smoking was allowed which seemed to always blow at us. Otherwise, wonderful experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Al66722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Its a Bar on the beach with good food.”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Don't expect high end with Sandy Bottoms. It is very good at what it is and that's a beach bar with good food and live music. We had the Frickles, low country boil, kids chicken fingers and a hamburger. The food was good not great but for the location it doesn't get any better. We sat outside and enjoyed the live music, sun and sand. The beers were cold and the service was excellent. I came back on Sunday to watch football at the bar while the family played on the beach. We come to Sandy Bottoms on every trip since we prefer that section of beach and access to the bar and restaurant is so easy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Bottoms Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing