We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Easter break on Tory Island”
Review of Harbour View Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tory Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Tory Island B&B and Inns
Newry, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An Easter break on Tory Island”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Forget every negative comment written on this site about Tory Island
Myself and friends (altogether there are 16 of us) book different kinds of breaks in Ireland two or three times a year and this Easter 9 of us went to stay on Tory Island for 2/3 days.
The Island is windswept and wild and rocky, with some of the most beautiful cliff and rock formations on its northern coast. The walks are very accessible, well signposted with resting spots along the way. The island is scrupulously clean and the people of Tory are very friendly and welcoming.
We stayed in the Harbour Hotel we were met at the ferry by the owners who took our bags to the hotel in their 4X4 (and took them back there at the end of the stay).
The Hotel has a very nice bar where the King of Tory Patsy, plays his accordian of a night. There is a nice airy dining room, a small lounge with pool table and each of the bedrooms are newly decorated with very clean and spacious bathrooms.
Breakfast was very good with choices of cereals, fruit, full Irish, scrambled eggs, toast etc etc. We ate there on both nights, food ranges from €11 - €15 in the dining room and there is a good variety e.g. salmon, fish and Chips Chicken, beef in a guinness sauce and steak. Desserts are to die for, the cook is an islander and her chocolate fudge cake (with ice cream) is highly recommended.
Drink prices are reasonable - a pint of guinness €3.80, a Bottle of chianti €18.
Price for our stay was €30 per person sharing, €35 single supplement.
Many many thanks to owners Patricia Doherty and her husband for making the stay so enjoyable.
If you get a chance visit this little gem and stay for a day or so you won't regret it - the ferry company is very accommodating (we were able to bring sea kayaks across at no extra cost). It only costs €26 return and is free for anyone with senior citizen (hope I don't insult anyone with that term) travel card

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank vmm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bawnboy, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We arrived on Tory after a long journey to be warmly greeted by the King at the harbour. He greeted us with the cead mile failte(a hundred thousand welcomes) and that is what we got. The hotel owner Sean, drove us and our bags the 150 Metres to the hotel. Daniel the manager took us under his wing. The food and accommodation were excellent and the entertainment, real traditional music was even better. Meeting with the islanders is a true experiance, genuinely friendly and welcoming - the real Ireland.

Room Tip: The rooms on te 1st floor have a better view than those the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin Head, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent a night on Tory in August 2013. Had a brilliant time. There were 2 families and 1 couple. We arrived at the pier and were met by the King of Tory and the owner of the hotel, Sean. He was expecting us as we had booked rooms for the night.
On arrival we had a lovely lunch and went off to explore the Island. We only made it to the west of the Island, the lighthouse and the graveyard. We will have to go back next year to see the East of the Island. While we were out walking, one of our group rang us to find out if we would like lobster for dinner. It was gorgeous and very reasonably priced.
That evening we were entertained by the King of Tory and we even got to see the 'brush' dance performed by one of the locals.
Next morning breakfast was lovely and we got to see the art gallery on the island and the children got to use the fantastic play park.
We will definitely be back to see the rest of the Island and once again experience the warm welcome of the owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We have been travelling to tory for years. This year new owners took over the hotel and I must say they are doing a terrific job so far. Sean and Patricia are so friendly and the staff are wonderful. Daniel is the manager and he is also a fabulous musician as well as being kind and friendly to the guests.
Liz is the chef and she is amazing. We had the most wonderful lobsters and homemade chocolate fudge cake. Menu is so tasty everything cooked fresh and to perfection.
The fire is always lighting so it's very cosy. There is heating in all the rooms. The hotel is also being revamped during the winter do I am looking forward to seeing it next year when we return.
There is music most night provided by the king and Daniel and other island musicians.
Tory Island is my favourite place out of every country I have travelled to. There is something special about the island and the people. ...I am counting the days until I return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bev34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived on Tory Island after a 40 minute ferry ride from the mainland and Immediately greeted with open arms by the king himself Patsy Dan. We went straight to the hotel and got a beautiful room at a very competitive rate. Daniel the manager greeted us and asked what we would like for dinner later and told us of the catch of the day. Later that night after a superb dinner there was great entertainment provided by some locals. Overall the stay was amazing and the hotel and staff were 100% I would not hesitate in recommending The Tory Island Harbor View Hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elduderal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Decided to pay a visit to the remote Gaeltacht island of Tory (oileann thorai) which lies about 9 miles of the north coast of Donegal,the island is about 3 miles long and approximately 1/2 mile wide.I was travelling with my wife,we took an overnight bag with us to keep our options open when we arrived on the island after a crossing of 45 minutes on the ferry we went straight to the hotel for a snack,we were only there a couple of minutes when the new owner appeared and introduced himself and welcomed us to the island and the hotel,after speaking with him for a couple of minutes and him offering us a room at a very keen rate,we were more than happy to stay,a couple of minutes later we where welcomed by the king of Tory Patsy dan Mac Ruarai who later provided the entertainment with a couple of the other guests and the bar manager Daniel.The room was very comfortable and peaceful, the evening meal was beautiful and the entertainment was superb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cmcd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tory Island
27.5 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
27.6 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
43.1 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.8 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
46.4 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
46.4 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Property: Harbour View Hotel
Address: Pier View, Tory Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Tory Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tory Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are private and en-suite with shower and bath facilities. Also family and disabled rooms available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing