We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab, Fab, Fab!!”
Review of Harbour View Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tory Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Tory Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent a night on Tory in August 2013. Had a brilliant time. There were 2 families and 1 couple. We arrived at the pier and were met by the King of Tory and the owner of the hotel, Sean. He was expecting us as we had booked rooms for the night.
On arrival we had a lovely lunch and went off to explore the Island. We only made it to the west of the Island, the lighthouse and the graveyard. We will have to go back next year to see the East of the Island. While we were out walking, one of our group rang us to find out if we would like lobster for dinner. It was gorgeous and very reasonably priced.
That evening we were entertained by the King of Tory and we even got to see the 'brush' dance performed by one of the locals.
Next morning breakfast was lovely and we got to see the art gallery on the island and the children got to use the fantastic play park.
We will definitely be back to see the rest of the Island and once again experience the warm welcome of the owners.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Harbour View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We have been travelling to tory for years. This year new owners took over the hotel and I must say they are doing a terrific job so far. Sean and Patricia are so friendly and the staff are wonderful. Daniel is the manager and he is also a fabulous musician as well as being kind and friendly to the guests.
Liz is the chef and she is amazing. We had the most wonderful lobsters and homemade chocolate fudge cake. Menu is so tasty everything cooked fresh and to perfection.
The fire is always lighting so it's very cosy. There is heating in all the rooms. The hotel is also being revamped during the winter do I am looking forward to seeing it next year when we return.
There is music most night provided by the king and Daniel and other island musicians.
Tory Island is my favourite place out of every country I have travelled to. There is something special about the island and the people. ...I am counting the days until I return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bev34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived on Tory Island after a 40 minute ferry ride from the mainland and Immediately greeted with open arms by the king himself Patsy Dan. We went straight to the hotel and got a beautiful room at a very competitive rate. Daniel the manager greeted us and asked what we would like for dinner later and told us of the catch of the day. Later that night after a superb dinner there was great entertainment provided by some locals. Overall the stay was amazing and the hotel and staff were 100% I would not hesitate in recommending The Tory Island Harbor View Hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elduderal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Decided to pay a visit to the remote Gaeltacht island of Tory (oileann thorai) which lies about 9 miles of the north coast of Donegal,the island is about 3 miles long and approximately 1/2 mile wide.I was travelling with my wife,we took an overnight bag with us to keep our options open when we arrived on the island after a crossing of 45 minutes on the ferry we went straight to the hotel for a snack,we were only there a couple of minutes when the new owner appeared and introduced himself and welcomed us to the island and the hotel,after speaking with him for a couple of minutes and him offering us a room at a very keen rate,we were more than happy to stay,a couple of minutes later we where welcomed by the king of Tory Patsy dan Mac Ruarai who later provided the entertainment with a couple of the other guests and the bar manager Daniel.The room was very comfortable and peaceful, the evening meal was beautiful and the entertainment was superb.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cmcd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sieglinde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tory Island
1.2 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
635 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bay View Hotel
Bay View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Killybegs
707 reviews
3.8 mi away
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,205 reviews
12.9 mi away
Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
#1 of 3 in Glencolmcille
171 reviews
1.9 mi away
Woodhill House
Woodhill House
#5 of 9 in Ardara
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Address: | West Town, Tory Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Tory Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tory Island
Price Range: $36 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are private and en-suite with shower and bath facilities. Also family and disabled rooms available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing