We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Portnablagh
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,808)
Filter reviews
1,808 results
Traveler rating
1,425
268
67
33
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,425
268
67
33
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marble hill thermal suite sheephaven bay outdoor hot tub winter wonderland bar food leisure centre guinness bread stunning views beautiful hotel first class relaxing break from start to finish santa experience relaxation room my mum superior room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,808 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed with my friends for an evening on the 19 th of January. Every member of staff were courteous and helpful no matter what we we asked for. The meal was delicious and the spa a dream experience. Many thanks!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 532lorrained
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShandonHotelandSpaGM, Manager at Shandon Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lorraine

Thank you for your kind and encouraging review, it was our pleasure to welcome you. I am delighted that we met and exceeded your expectations and you had an amazing experience at Shandon Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, a warm welcome awaits.


Kind Regards


Siobhán
Resort Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2nights at the weekend with a voucher we had been bought for christmas. The hotel is beautiful set in the most stunning area. The hotel is clean and well kept. Check in was quick and easy. The room was large and spacious and as it was my partners birthday they had left a card and chocolates in the room. We were in room 214 and you could hear noise from the leisure centre which is directly underneat the rooms but it didnt ruin our stay.
We ate in the bar the first night. Staff and service were brilliant, the menu was a little unexciting for us and a little on the expensive side. Food was lovely but nothing special for the price paid.
The breakfast is wonderful and again staff and service are great.
Really enjoyed our stay and nice to switch off in beautiful surroundings.
We will happily return.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank weeanie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShandonHotelandSpaGM, Manager at Shandon Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Shandon Resort to celebrate your partners birthday, it was our pleasure to have you as our guests.

I am delighted that you were super impressed with our stunning location and found our team to be welcoming and attentive throughout your stay.
Thank you for your feedback regarding our Menu, your comments are gladly received and will certainly be looked into by the Executive Head Chef.

We look forward to your return in the near future, a warm Shandon welcome awaits.


Kindest Regards


Siobhán
Resort Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020 via mobile

From the minute myself and my friend walked in to the Spa we were made very welcome by the staff. The Thermal suite, outdoor tub (in the rain) was a great experience and very relaxing. Myself and my friend both had treatments and they were a treat. Professional and courteous staff.

We stayed in the hotel for one night B&B. From check in to check out was very quick and efficient. A big thank you to Donna. We stayed in a room looking out over the bay. Immaculately clean and comfortable. We ate in the bar and I would highly recommend. A big thank you also to Trevor who was on hand to take our orders and was very helpful with recommendations. Breakfast was good too and set us us for the day!

All in all we had a great stay. Its a well run hotel/Spa with a good team of staff who take time to chat to the customers but also always in a professional manner. Highly recommend and we will definitely be back. Well done all!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank MissyCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShandonHotelandSpaGM, Manager at Shandon Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

We are truly humbled and grateful to receive your amazing review, sincere thanks on behalf of our team. We have a wonderful guest service ethos at Shandon Resort and your kind words reiterate our dedication and passion.

Thank you for your regards for our team members Donna and Trevor, they are truly obliging and courteous at all times and delighted with your acknowledgement.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon, as valued repeat guests don't forget to avail of your complimentary upgrade.

Thank you for your recommendation, assuring you of our continued personal attention.

Warmest Regards,

Siobhán
Resort Sales Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights- when storm Brendan hit!!! Make sure you get a room overlooking the ocean as the view is spectacular whether it’s by day or moonlit night. Our room was grand, warm, comfy and with all we needed. Even a cafetière!! Comfy dressing gowns provided if one wants a spa trip! Towels are beautiful and soft. Everything was spotless.
Hotel staff are lovely and will help with anything. It really is a fabulous place to stay. So why 4/5 stars? Well.....this day in age how hard is it to have even one vegan thing On the menu? Vegetarian had 2 options but both loaded with dairy or cheese. Unless of course you eat chips and salad, the vegan option everywhere if you don’t ask what the chips are fried with. Come on lads! In fairness at breakfast I had soya milk or flora but porridge wasn’t an option, not a veggie sausage in sight. It would t take a lot of tweaking to sort that and be a viable option for vegans! We keep looking for them.
Beyond that this is a great place to chill. We headed to the beaches even with the storms. Absolute joy. I would heartily recommend the hotel. By the way everyone else loved the food! Full of flavour they said. I enjoyed the gin!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank alice272016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShandonHotelandSpaGM, Manager at Shandon Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Alice

Thank you for choosing Shandon Resort for your recent break away, it was our pleasure to welcome you. We are delighted to receive your delightful review and in particular your kind regards for team Shandon and our attention to detail.

We take huge pride in our excellent guest experience creating fond memories in a warm inviting ambiance. Thank your for your comments regarding our vegan menu options, all feedback is gladly received and suggestions considered.

Thanks for your recommendation and we look forward to your imminent return, a warm welcome awaits.

Kind Regards

Siobhán
Resort Sales Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

its hard to find fault with this resort, everything was perfect. scenery is beautiful, food is flavorful and cooked to perfection, staff are so helpful and friendly and our room was immaculate and had everything we needed.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank naomhhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShandonHotelandSpaGM, Manager at Shandon Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Naomh

We are absolutely thrilled to receive your flawless review, on behalf of team Shandon thank you, your kind words are most encouraging.

I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and our stunning location and hope that you will return to visit again very soon.

A warm welcome Shandon welcome awaits.

Kindest Regards


Siobhán
Resort Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews