We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

River Wilderness is a great quiet place to stay if your looking to get out of the "commercial" Florida Scene. It is set up like an apartment, with linens and basic kitchen items. Nice livingroom furniture-even a recliner! It could use some updating, however it was clean and accommodating, and the view from your private screened in porch is not to be beat if you want to relax. This place is close to everything in this quaint little town, and the food in this town is great. If your looking for a McD or BK-this may not be your place-not one in sight for miles. But the people are a friendly as can be, the setting on the everglades is stunning, and River Wilderness is the quiet and comfortable place that we were looking for. Your can park your boat, borrow their canoes, and relax on the patio along the water. We went to the fish market and purchased local fresh seafood and used our kitchen to make our dinner and enjoyed it in the screen porch while watching the fishing boats come it-perfect! I plan on returning to this little slice of heaven!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronnica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 164 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is an older facility, great river views, screened porch to sit and watch the water flow. Friendly check in/out. One maintenance issue was resolved during they day while we were out.
Unit consists of sitting room, eating area, galley kitchen, bath and bedroom. Lots of nice touches, but needs updating.
Bed was comfortable.
Kitchen is small (one person) but had all that we needed, including placemats and coasters. Dish washer would be nice, but again, this is an older facility, so I didn't expect one. I'll count the previous occupants garbage left in the disposer as a one-off housekeeping oversight-Ugh! That said, I didn't feel the need to wash every dish before I used it.
Bath was ok, but the fittings need replacing.Could use some extra touches in the bath--something more than a bar of soap! If they don't want towels to be used to remove makeup, they could provide cotton.
Free wi-fi worked well. Air conditioning unit was only in sitting room and very loud. Did little to cool bedroom. A few books and puzzles on the shelves is a nice touch for rainy days.
Think summer cottage and you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SHVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We booked a night at River Wilderness on a return trip from Miami. This place is a fantastic find. Located about a mile from Everglades National Park and surrounded by restaurants, boat rentals, fishing spots, etc. arranging your day is stress free. To get the most from your visit, just ask Myrna at the front desk for suggestions. She gave us several options and we were very pleased with everything we did. Canoes, a swimming pool and WIFI are available free of charge. We plan to go back next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a screened in porch and are located on the water. Parking is directly under your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billtfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night back in February. After returning from a cruise we drove down the Everglades City to see some 'back country' and rented a room here.

The room a clean and was more like a studio apartment than a motel room. I see where fishermen like this place as you can park your boat out back.

If you are an 'off the beaten path' traveler this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A62chv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We came to fish and stayed for four nights, and had a blast. These villas are right on the water and have beautiful views. They have a boat ramp and dock for your boat. They also have canoes you can use for free. There is a on-site laundry room, and each villa has a screened in back porch with water views and a full kitchen. The customer service from Mrs. Jean was unbeatable, she was very helpful and just went above and beyond for us. There are two nice restaurant within walking distance, as well as a fishing outfitter and gas station/bait shop. Both restaurants will cook what you catch for you, which we thought was neat and they did a very good job. You really can't beat the location of this place. We enjoyed our stay very much and will be back again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights here, had a great time in the Everglades. It is HOT in August here in Florida, so my number one need for any place is A/C, and while it worked very well in our villa there was only one A/C unit and it was in the living room so the bedroom was quite warm, my wife get sick if sleeping with a fan of any kind on her, so we had to turn the A/C down to about 50 to cool off the bedroom, when we got up it was so cold! The kitchen was small and the appliances old, but they worked very well, and the kitchen was fully stocked with pots and pans, and silverware, and even grilling utensils, they have a nice grilling area out back and some picnic tables (bring bug spray!) The free use of the canoes is another bonus, we used them once, had a lot of fun with it. The back porch area is nice to sit and try to spot alligators and bird watch. The WIFI worked well, no complaints. There a a few restaurants within walking distance, and multiple boat tours withing walking distance as well. The place is old, no doubt, but if you are looking for some peace and quite, and some adventure at the same time this place is perfect. I would come back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davis0492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The room was very run down. There were a couple spots on the wall where duct tape had been used to cover a hole or something. Although it wasn't dirty, it just felt gross because everything was around was so old. The screened porch was excellent and the view was awesome. Staff was very very nice. I personally would not want to stay here again but for someone that just cares about location, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.5 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.3 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.8 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Olde Marco Island Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ivey House
Ivey House
#1 of 5 in Everglades City
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades

Address: 210 Collier Blvd., P.O. Box 380, Everglades City, FL 34139
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range: $147 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Wilderness has 12 one bedroom villas and 2 two bedroom villas. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen and lovely screen porch overlooking the water. All villas have AC/heat, cable TV, phone in room, free WiFi. Canoes, swimming pool, BBQ grill, laundry are available for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades Hotel Everglades City
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing