We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and cozy”

Camellia Street Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: We are located on the Barron River, beautiful water side dinning. We pride ourselves in offering our customers fresh local seafood. Our menu has a variety of things to choose from, several vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options as we'll as real angus beef burgers and delicious Ribeye stakes. Our salads are made with organic herbs that we pick daily to provide the freshest bursts of flavor possible. Our ordering method is a little different than a conventional restaurant, you order at the counter and we bring you the food when it is ready. We tend to get extremely busy in season and on some occasions the wait for your food to be delivered can be 25 to 50 minutes. We have entertainment on Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights for our customers to relax and enjoy the eclectic environment. Our motto Is not turning tables, we want to provide our customers with a nice, relaxing pleasurable visit wether it's sitting on our sofas in our outdoor lounge playing backgammon or soaking up the sun on the dock. Hope everyone can stop by and enjoy some amazing food overlooking the Barron river l!!! See y'all soon!!
Remington, Indiana
2 reviews
“Unique and cozy”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Excellent dinner outside along the water! Great food and service! Very reasonably priced! Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    459
    144
    46
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food, Average to Poor Customer Service”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The Food was Good, the Customer Service was Poor. A bug was in one of our spirit drinks after drinking half of it. When we noticed it our daughter was like I can't drink this, so her dad went to the counter and asked if they could replenish the 1/2 glass as a courtesy and they said no we had to pay full or half price. We could understand their refusal if we had been on the patio outside where bugs were everywhere, but we were inside their establishment. We weren't asking for a full glass, only what was left. We were spending about $100.00 plus willing to tip a gratuitous 20%. (While they didn't know that, one would expect someone willing to spend that much would most likely offer a customary 15% at least). It seemed a fair establishment would be willing to accept the minor loss and extend the courtesy with such a bill and potential tip for their wait staff. Instead they denied the courtesy and then started to laugh with other staff as they watched him walk away. We couldn't help but feel insulted and believed if we were someone more important in their eyes or of a different race, they would had been more obliging. Of course we can't prove anything, but it seemed to be a reasonable thing to expect from such an establishment (who should be willing to encourage good reviews) to extend the courtesy whenever possible without much exertion on their part. And as for importance, we may not have been publicly important, but we were appropriately dressed (in fact, better dressed than most people there) and our daughter is a doctor(not a nurse) with a good income in case they thought we had just saved a few pennies to come there. For $2.50, it was a poor choice for them

The K/C Family.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bonitasolana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palo alto, ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved the food, vibe, location”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Pulled in from a long day of driving and had a great relaxed dinner. Something for everyone on this menu (kids, vegetarians, adults). Watched the sunset over the mangrove forest while watching the river rush by. Awesome.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ebj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Local Atmosphere and Food”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Camellias is the place in Everglades City. You order your food at the counter and then they bring it to you. Their system for that is not very efficient--they could just give you a number instead of yelling out your name--but the food is GREAT. The salad is great with the best herbs you've eaten recently and the fish tacos and King fish were great too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BethMB1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Fresh stone crabs and great herb salad”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had nice fresh stone crabs, tasty sweet potato fries and a fabulous herb salad. I asked for the herb salad recipe, but when he started listing all the different herbs in the salad, I knew it would be impossible for me to duplicate - for example, where would you get chocolate basil unless you grew herbs too? The herbs are all from their garden.

Very quaint, on the water and a good band. Only complaints - bugs at night and it was a little dark by our table and hard to see. The regulars knew to bring bug spray and kindly offered it to us.

We did eat by the water and did not try to see if sitting in the screened in area would have helped. We noticed that other people arrived earlier - while it was still light out and left before the bugs were out. We would have went back the next night, but did not want to deal with the bug spray again.

As mentioned by others, you do have to wait a bit in a line to order, but if you know that is the routine, then just chill and accept it.

We had no problems finding it. Our hotel gave us a map of the area and had recommended this restaurant. It is behind the school.

I would definitely go back there again to eat. It is worth it even if you have to use bug spray.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank accidental_squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camellia Street Grill also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Camellia Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing