We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”

The Oyster House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Oyster House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The food was delicious and the service was excellent! The fish was perfect! There was nothing I disliked!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasLee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    224
    158
    65
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A miserable experience”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

When some of my friends and I decided to ride our motorcycles to Everglades City this past weekend, I was enthused. Especially when we happened upon the self-titled 'World Famous' Oyster House Restaurant. I'm a HUGE fan of oysters, so this was a natural stop.

To say I was disappointed would be the understatement of the decade. None of the wait staff knew much about their adult beverage offerings, and since it was before 1p, there was no bartender on duty. I could easily live with this, but when I ordered a dozen oysters on the half-shell, what I got were dry, gummy and definitely not fresh.

To top it off, the walls are literally covered in taxidermy. Really? In a seafood house? Not one fish, either...just Buffalo, deer (not FL deer either), a squirrel and other critters. Not appetizing surroundings, that's for sure.

I will never set foot in this place again. $4 for a bottled domestic beer, about $15 for the dozen horrible oysters.

I do not recommend this place at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank Bouncer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great early dinner”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We had the seafood baskets, which were very good! A little pricier than I expected but was still well worth it. I would go there again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Formerly great Restaurant fails under new management”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been going to The Oyster House for many years and have loved eating there; however, under new management we found the quality of the food has deteriorated considerably. The new owners are not headed in the right direction. Recipes have changed and not in a good way. Cannot recommend this restaurant as it stands now.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food and fantastic service”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We took a punt on this restaurant on our way through Everglades City to Tampa, it was getting late so we decided to have a quick dinner and get on our way. We had the Coconut and Macadamia fried Grouper with what I could only describe as a honey mustard type sauce base and the Bay Scallops. Thoroughly recommend the coconut grouper. This was probably the best meal we had all holiday, only topped by the quality of service that Candy D gave us. We had our 5 month old baby boy with us and she was very attentive to our needs. Thank you Candy for your great service!

(And they have a 13ft stuffed alligator in the bar!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank I L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oyster House Restaurant also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Oyster House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing