We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere and service”

The Oyster House Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Newcastle Upon tyne
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and service”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our meal here, a special grilled fish platter, with a Stone Crab starter.
There was a party going on in the bar but this didn't distract our waitress, who was very attentive and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank MattHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    225
    161
    65
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great food and service above and beyond”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went to this restaurant as my husband likes seafood but I am a vegetarian! This was not a problem for the staff at all. Kelly Baker took time and trouble to find out what I eat and spoke to the owner who also came over and asked what he can prepare for me. Instead of offering me a salad, he prepared a great cheese and mushroom omelette. It was really great to get freshly cooked food after a long day of sightseeing....Food ordered by other people in our group was great and plentiful!
The food, staff and great atmospshere of the restaurant is highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and good drinks”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Traveling from Chokoloschee to Everglades City we noticed lots of cars at this restaurant. After being in the area a week we decided to visit. Sat on the bar side. Waitress asked " what would I like to drink". I asked how are the Long Islands? She replied " strong". They definitely were good. My husband had shrimp and I had the Grouper basket. Food was good. The waitress was very friendly. Now I know why this place is crowded. Would recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth trying”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had dinner at the Oyster House after traveling to the Everglades. The Clam Chowder was excellent! We had nice fresh salad, and my boyfriend had the grilled grouper on his that he really enjoyed. I had the mixed plate of grouper fingers and grilled alligator. Both were very good. Grilled veges, a baked potato, and a hushpuppy made it wonderful. Service was ok, we saw another waitress deliver the specials that we weren't told of. But, all in all it was very good and the prices were very reasonable. We would recommend the Oyster House!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
“Great local restaurant”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

They have delicious fresh seafood in a quaint, rustic restaurant right on the water. Great service and a peaceful ambiance worthy of a stop for lunch after a tour of 10,000 Islands!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oyster House Restaurant also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Oyster House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing