We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly helpful staff, great breakfast, rooms with thin walls”
Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“friendly helpful staff, great breakfast, rooms with thin walls”
Reviewed March 3, 2006

We stayed in the lodge for one night and took advantage of the discount to rent canoes from the Ivey House. The staff was nice and helpful. Really great people. The rate for the lodge includes breakfast which was actually pretty good and better than many hotel buffets.
Staying in the lodge means using the shared bathrooms, but this was not a problem. The only downside to the room was that the walls are made of mobile home material so you can hear your neighbors and they can hear you. Also, there was only one window which faced the street, so we kept the shutters drawn for privacy. The room was small, so this made it feel even more so. If only they had splurged on either a balcony or better wall material, the room would've been much nicer. The lodge rooms seem to be mainly for folks who use the room to sleep and not much else. There is an option: for twice the amount of money, a full fledged hotel room can be had in the other side of the Ivey House by the swimming pool.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qsuzicue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    400
    85
    20
    12
See reviews for
309
564
45
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 28, 2005

Enjoyed our brief 1-night stopover at Ivey House. It was a great spot for touring the Everglades, Airboat Rides, Gator Spotting nearby and Bird Watching. Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable, surrounding a screened-in courtyard and very nice lushly landscaped pool area. Rooms don't have balconies but the courtyard is a nice place to sit and relax with tables and chairs outside each room. Hot buffet breakfast was good and included in the price. Good value at $100 but cost for extra person a bit high at $25 (even for kids)

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 29, 2005

I do not know what any of you people are talking about! The people at the Ivey House were so great! The rooms clean, spacious, and comfortable. The pool was great, it was screened in unlike the pool at the Captains Table so you can go anytime of day and not worry about the mosquitos! The breakfast was great...they have a small kitchen and the staff did wonderfully considering there were proabably 60 people in the dining room! They have bikes for the guests to use, boat rentals, guided trips, and lots of knowledge about the area! I would highly recommend this spot!

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 14, 2005

We were overcharged and treated poorly during the '04 Seafood Festival.
Due to the ceramic tiled floor in the private rooms we were in constant danger of slipping and falling due to the absence of a carpet, rug or mat especially if our feet were wet. Not to mention the having to wash the sand/dirt/crumbs off our feet before climbing into bed. We actually had to ask them to please change the sheets and sweep the floor in our room during our 3 night stay.
We could not escape the sensation of being watched and we left just a little itchier than we arrived.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 5, 2004

We were down durring the Sea Food Festable and they had the nerve to charge us $100/night to stay in the most disgusting Youth Hostel enviroment! 1 tiny room no phone only 2 single beds, and end table, a light and an wall a/c unit! We actually had to walk down the hall to share a filthy bathroom with the rest of the guest that were taken for a ride too! Stay at the Captians Table! Much nicer and they have great food!
Oh, I forgot to mention, a male cleaning person walked into the bathroom as my sister was getting out of the shower! And he just stayed and started cleaning! Also the "breakfast" that came with our room was not the best in the world. Service stunk, the room stunk. My advice: Just don't go/stay there ever. You'd be better sleeping with the gators!

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.1 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.8 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
630 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.6 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Property: Ivey House
Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing