We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,184)
Filter reviews
1,184 results
Traveler rating
611
441
93
25
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
611
441
93
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kayak tour everglades national park shark valley indoor pool place to stay continental breakfast stayed one night hard boiled eggs fresh fruit room was large airboat alligators florida lodging accommodations irma fishing
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 1,184 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2017

We (4 adults) did a boat trip in the early evening and were supported by a cool guide who knows everthing about the plants and the animals in the region. We had 3 canoes and it was really amazing to paddle between alligators across the lakes and through the mangrove swamps. We saw a lot of animals and to paddle in the night with headlamps is really exciting! And finally we had an alligator direct in front of our cars - so our guide has to run him off. If possible I'll do that again!

Room tip: I didn*t book a room there - I booked only a guided tour at the hotel!
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank manfredbrandner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2017

We stayed for one night at Ivey House before camping in Ten Thousand Islands. The hotel was recommended by Florida Outdoor Adventures for the night before departure. Only rooms in the lodge were available, so the room was quite small and there were shared bathrooms. Everything was clean though and for our purposes, just one night, it was fine. There were hot water showers in the bathrooms, which was most important to us as we would be away from running water for a few days. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. We had all our tours pre-planned but they are happy to help if you don't already have plans and offer suggestions. The breakfast in the morning was great - a variety of good hot and cold breakfast items as well as plenty of fresh fruit. I would definitely stay here again next time visiting Everglades City. If staying for more than one night, I would probably try to get a regular room instead of the lodge for a private bathroom and a bigger room.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jmpncsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017 via mobile

We had an excellent stay at the Ivey House. The rooms and property were immaculate and the staff very attentive. We are very particular about cleanliness and order and this establishment filled the bill. Our experience at the Ivey House evoked memories of "Old Florida." Would recommend to all who are looking for a base from which to explore the beauty of the Everglades.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Katieb081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017 via mobile

This friendly place does exactly what it says on the tin. It is not fancy, but it doesn't pretend to be. Rooms are basic, bathrooms are shared (for most rooms) but everything is spotlessly clean and seemed very secure. Generous and varied breakfast included. But the best thing is the helpful attitude of the knowledgeable desk staff with advice on local trails and activities. Even with photo I/d on snakes! Danny was a fine guide, informative on fauna and flora, mindful of safety, and especially kind when my back badly needed stretching after three hours on tricky stretch of magical Turner River Kayaking trip. Overall, An ideal base for any nature lover in one of the most biodiverse parts of the US. And not a bad place to just hang out by the (small but quite pretty) pool and read.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Paddy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017

We made last minute reservations at Ivey House after deciding at the last minute to leave the Keys and visit the Everglades for the first time. We couldn't have been more pleased with the friendly staff, spacious and clean room, delicious breakfast and affordable price! We decided to stay two nights to take advantage of their recommendations for an airboat ride and a kayak tour through mangroves - both of which did not disappoint! Cap't. Henry was our airboat pilot - he did a great job of providing information and a very fun ride. Danny guided our kayak tour and handled everything perfectly - including helping us understand how to safely share the water with many gators! We'll definitely return!

Room tip: Our room, including the bathroom, was spacious and quiet.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RuthieDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews