We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everglades as it should be done”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
Vista, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Everglades as it should be done”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Ivey House for 3 days. What a great trip to stay at the Ivey House. We stayed in the Inn as we like having a private bathroom - they also have the lodge w/ shared bathroom. This place was amazing!!!

From the moment we arrived (off the plane in Miami - get on the Tamiami and go west Feifel) - see the alligators, birds and turtles along the way. Front desk was very accomodating as we were early and got us a room that was ready after telling us it might be a little while. All the front desk was very helpful, kind and cheerful.

Room was comfortable and clean. Price was very good. I thought about the pool being screened in but after a few bites outside (and this was beginning of rainy season), makes a ton of sense.

We came for wildlife and are pretty quiet people. Went kayaking in the everglades and this was beyond amazing - took a guided tour as we did not really know anything about the glades. We were lucky enough to get Troy - he was able to work w/ those that had kayaked before as well as those who were brand new - made everyone feel comfortable. He has good knowledge of the area and is not afraid to say he does not know something (as opposed to making up an answer) He used the right amount of talking and quiet to make the trip peaceful. Although we had almost a full crew, it was still very enjoyable. Airboats are not our style.

Ken and his wife (sorry forgot the name) were extremely helpful. Each day we were asked what we had done and what we were up to. We used Everglades city as our base for exploring the area. Ken also seemed to understand as he approached the guests, who did and did not want to talk - a unique talent. They know the area and restaurants and had many recommendations.

Food each morning was very good - buffet style and plenty to get you going. Coffee, tea and water available throughout the day for free. And they try to be eco (and doing pretty good job) which seemed kinda rare on our trip to Florida.

We met some friends at this place (were made to feel like family - in a good way) and plan to return.

Room Tip: Room by the pool is good (in the inn). Pool closes down early so don't worry bout the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenLeCreate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    394
    83
    20
    12
See reviews for
305
552
45
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City Center, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

If your expecting a bed and breakfast this is not the place for you. It did have a bed but the cold cuts, cereal and toast provided was awful. It didn't even meet the standards of a continental breakfast that most motels provide. No eggs, no bacon, no sausage, no biscuits,
no pancakes, no waffles, no pastries etc.. I was told by the manager that they cater to "european" tourist and this is what they like for breakfast! REALLY!!!! The Ivey House is a 1950,s vintage motel. The TV is an old cathode ray model with limited channels. The AC unit is a standard, loud, below the window motel unit. The swimming pool was very small and was only 4' deep at the deep end. It was more like a small wading pool. Do not waste your time and money on an airboat ride at "Speedys" next door which they recommend for $37 per person. A 1 hour ride is really 40 minutes when you include the times the operator stops to "look" at mangroves. The entire tour is limited to a few acres of mangroves from which channels have been cut. The airboat is never able to attain much speed. The airboat never leaves the mangroves and does not go over grasslands as advertised. There are so many airboats traversing the mangroves its like an airport. We saw 1 bird and 1 alligator .

Room Tip: Go to another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking some time to share your thoughts and feedback regarding the Ivey House. Please accept our most sincere apologies for your disappointing stay. Our goal is to show guests true hospitality in an authentic Everglades City/Old Florida environment and we did not meet your expectations.
Please accept our apologies once again for our missteps during your stay.


All the Best!
Liz M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We came upon Troy on the Turner River in our kayaks, one of which had a malfunction. He helped to fix our problem when we got to the Ivey House. Amy was helpful and polite at the front desk. Ken went above and beyond to help us have an excellent Everglades adventure even though it was rainy. Breakfast was good and I liked the coffee, hot tea and hot chocolate station all day and evening in the dining room. We had a king room and it was very comfortable. What a great value and experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

While traveling through the area we booked a night at the Ivy House, the staff was polite, the rooms were clean and we spent one of our best days enjoying the eco tourism of the area. We would have liked to canoe in the everglades but the day was stormy so we'll have to save it for the next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki3184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We live in the Florida Keys and on the spur of the moment, wanted to "get off the rock." Our destination was Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary (Audubon) about 45 minutes from Everglades City. We figured Everglades City would be a great place to stay nearby our destination. I've been to Everglades City before, my wife had not been, and I wanted to make that part of the weekend adventure.

The choice of The Ivey House was a chance encounter while trying to find a place to stay, one night in advance and on Memorial Day weekend. The Ivey house had room and looked like a great find.

OK, to the point, it was a spectacular experience - from check-in to check out. All of those that we met associated with Ivey House, were warm, friendly, and inviting, as if into their home. The property and buildings have obvious historic character, however, everything is immaculately maintained and intelligently laid out. The pool setting is wonderful in an interior part of the facility. It is well protected from any "buggy offences." The Ghost Orchid Café offers a very nice breakfast in a very comfortable and relaxed setting.

Room Tip: Frankly, I was thinkng of taking a cottage, which might be better for family, but the more tradition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garrettgeo1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A good place to be in the outdoors and on the coast. The town has a relaxed feel and all seem to be enjoying the water and coast.

The guides an the swamp kayak trips were informative and fun. The night swamp kayak trip was a treat and I felt like I was alone yet only yards from others.

Both sides of the Ivey House deliver value. I felt at home.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boeuf49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Ivey House is a great place to stay, next to the water.
Via Ivey House we made reservations for an airboat tour and a guided canoe trip for 2 persons. Everything was planned very well, the room was ready for us
early, so we could settle and then go for both trips with a good packed lunch.
Nice airboat tour, but no animals at this time of the year.
Very nice and quiet canoe trip with a good guide. His name was Tom, he gave us a lot of interesting information about nature and he was very nice and relaxed. We enjoyed it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.1 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.8 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
613 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.6 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Property: Ivey House
Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing