We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice! Like you are at the lake lodge!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
Merrimack, NH
Level Contributor
387 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nice! Like you are at the lake lodge!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

First trip to the Everglades. Choose Ivey House because of trip advisor reviews and kayak packages. We enjoyed it-- with teenager for 2 nights. We stayed in the lodge section-- experience was lazy, comfortable and relaxing. Felt like we were at the lake lodge. Sleeping rooms tight but very clean and comfortable. A/C good quality. Living room in lodge very roomy and comfortable - with free Wi-Fi. Shared bathrooms compared to nice facilities in upscale RV parks. Felt safe. Enjoyed pool after everglades adventuring. General Manager checks in during breakfast to make you feel welcomed! and staff offers where to explore. Breakfast area is very comfortable-- bagels, cereal, toast, hard boiled eggs and fruit. B&B experience in the everglades. Everglades City is small -- do not expect to do much more than explore the Everglades nature and beauty.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms not for all travelers--if you ok with camping or lake lodging would definitely recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hr1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    394
    83
    20
    12
See reviews for
305
552
45
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Tome
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We only planned an overnight trip to Everglades City, but went to trusty Tripadvisor for hotel advice. We weren't disappointed! Ivey House was a wonderful respite from the sun and bugs. We booked a double queen room that was large and comfortable. Loved the tile floors. Twenty rooms surround a pool with plenty of space between the pool and rooms for relaxation, book reading, or sipping on a cool drink. The staff are friendly and helpful and will ensure that you make the most of your stay. There is a gift shop with hats, sunscreen, bug repellant and books to make your stay more enjoyable. At check-in the Front Desk Manager gave us a map and quick explanation of restaurants in the area, and another of local attractions. We took advantage of Everglades National Park's boat tour and the local obligatory airboat ride. Be sure to use Tripadvisor to review activities in the area. Make Ivey House your retreat for shade and relaxation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaoTomeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

What a way to spend a Birthday!. I am from Florida and had been to the Everglades before but never on a kayak trip (or two). The Ivey House is a friendly place to stay, very quite and perfect for a single woman.You can book various types of trips at the Ivey. For me, an evening trip for 4 hours to watch the full moon come up over the mangroves (thanks Guide Tom for loaning me your gloves for my hands were really cold). To the hotel and a hot shower. Up early to a great breakfast - included in the room price - and off for another 4 hours with Guide John. Lots of birds, mangrove tunnels, open water and more tunnels to paddle through. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. There are many great places to eat local food. Want to get away from it all and see nature as it really is? This could be the experience for you, it sure was for me.

Judie A.

Room Tip: I preferred a single room not the "bunkhouse" side but those rooms looked very clean also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjanderson33957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Ivey House was a wonderful experience! Great staff, clean as a whistle, and just plain nice! The staff was very helpful and friendly with great knowledge of the Everglades. One could find any information one needed through them. I would recommend this place to anyone I know planning to come to Everglades City.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jduncan1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Ivey House has turned into my favorite hotel. The people are friendly and the place is always kept spotless. 3rd stay with them and each one has been great. I think next year is going to be a longer stay so we can take one of their kayak tours.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Mystic, CT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ivey House in March 2013, and it proved to be the perfect launching pad for a visit to the Everglades. The Ivey House is attractive, clean and well-located, but what really makes it stand out is the well-informed and helpful staff. We took two great kayak trips (one early morning and one sunset) arranged through EvergladesAdventures. The evening trip was especially memorable! Ivey House has menus from all the area restaurants, and good advice on everything from food to tourism. With its reasonable rates, we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Historical. Very clean but expect things to be outdated (and we stayed in the modern section). It is the prefect location for exploring the area. I thought close to $200 per night was a bit much. The rooms have one window and very dark-but who is staying in the room. Breakfast was provided and it was so so. The staff are exceptional and helpful. Very old Florida with modern prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YosemiteTraveler603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.1 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.8 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.6 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Property: Ivey House
Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing