We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean and mosquito freee”
Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good clean and mosquito freee”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed one night. Clean room, friendly staff. Recommended and booked an airboat ride for us. The pool was unexpected but welcome after a long day in the heat. No need for mosquito spray inside the hotel (just make sure you are covered up and use appropriate anti mossy spray outside, especially in evenings).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Judy and Steve:
Thank you for your comments: we're happy you enjoyed your clean room and our very accommodating staff. We hope we'll see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    400
    85
    20
    12
See reviews for
309
564
45
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mildura, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here mid-August for two nights. The weather was, not surprisingly, hot and humid but our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we are very glad they convinced us that a kayak tour would be a good idea. They were right!!! A fantastic experience. The breakfasts were tasty and plentiful and the pool was a welcome relief after a hard day in the Everglades.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank milduratravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear milduratravellers:
We're so happy you were pleased during your stay with us, and that you took the opportunity to go on one of our EvergladesAdventures.com guided kayak tours. It sounds like you enjoyed your room, breakfasts, pool and seeing some of our beautiful Everglades! Please come visit again sometime...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed one night here before doing the "Swamp Walk" at Clyde Butcher's gallery. Our room was very clean, and the front desk staff was friendly, although they refuse to recommend local restaurants. Instead, the Ivey House keeps a restaurant review journal with guests' notes, which is a mixed bag, as some guests love the same restaurant that others hated. We had dinner at City Seafood, at a picnic table near the water. Our food was good, would go there again, but it's mostly fried food.

The breakfast at the Ivey House is like a continental breakfast - lots of bread, juice, and coffee.

Room Tip: The inn rooms are large and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowgirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Cowgirl41:
We're glad to hear you had a great stay here at the Ivey House and we thank you for sharing your thoughts with others! We're also proud of you for experiencing a swamp walk at Clyde's annual Muckabout days... isn't it great to see the beauty of the Everglades by going right on INTO the Everglades? Thanks again for sharing your thoughts... we hope we'll see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and 10 year old son stayed here for 2 nights while exploring the Everglades. The staff is friendly and the rooms comfortable. The rooms are on the smaller side and a bit dated but the Ivey House has a quaintness about it. There is a screened in pool which was great for my son in the evening. There is also a free breakfast which was simple yet satisfying.

The Ivey House also offers canoe and kayak tours. We did not take the tours as some are a bit pricey for 3 of us. You can take boat tours in the National Park which are less expensive. You can also rent canoes for the dayt at a very low cost. The hotel is very close to the park's entrance which makes it a great location!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaco2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Jaco2010:
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with others: we're happy to hear you had a good experience with us. We hope we'll see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were at Ivey House for 3 nights. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was a great start to every activity packed day. The room was clean and comfortable. The pool was a nice place to cool down after a day in the heat. We toured with Chris on his Swam Buggy. The only negative was that 4 hours went by too fast!! He was very knowledgable and accommodating. We went kayaking with Troy, who was so much fun! And we took an airboat 'cruise' with Fred, who really knows how to do those U-turns. I will review each of these separately, along with the restaurants where we ate. I would definitely recommend the Ivey House for a nice, hospitable place to stay while enjoying the Everglades!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbtravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear dbtravelor:
Thank you for all your wonderful comments: we're happy you enjoyed the Ivey House and really excited you got to experience some of the amazing adventures we offer our guests. Thank you for sharing all your thoughts on each adventure... I know Chris, Troy and Fred are happy to see your comments, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ETERVILLE
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Nice place to prepare tour on the Everglades.
Staff very patient wii french family to explain and explain how to discover the everglades in canoe !
Room is very confortable and acces to the inside pool is very nice (after the 4 hours in canoe, it was very friendly to get a break in a pool).
All the family recommend that hotel...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCRoadRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear JC Roaderunner:
Thank you for sharing your experiences with others - we sure are glad you had a great stay and were able to enjoy one of our amazing kayak tours. We enjoyed having your family here and hope you will visit us again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keys, FL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Clean; affordable; helpful staff; well located. Clean. decent-sized room. Comfortable bed. Nice free breakfast. Easy to use website with good, accurate information.

A well-run establishment offering a square deal. Will visit again.

Room Tip: The Ivey House offers three different lodging options. Be sure to know the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.1 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.8 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
630 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.6 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Property: Ivey House
Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing