We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ivey House
Nearby Hotels
Captain's Table Resort(Everglades City)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Everglades City Motel(Everglades City)(Great Value!)
$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rod and Gun Club(Everglades City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Glades Haven Cozy Cabins(Everglades City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,143)
Filter reviews
1,143 results
Traveler rating
602
416
89
22
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
602
416
89
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskayak tourmangrove tunnelsshared bathroomturner rivereverglades national parkbig cypressshark valleyair boat ridecovered poolplace to stayten thousand islandsbed and breakfastmorning kayakstayed one nightfresh fruithard boiled eggsold florida
Filter
Updating list...
533 - 538 of 1,143 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed one night here before doing the "Swamp Walk" at Clyde Butcher's gallery. Our room was very clean, and the front desk staff was friendly, although they refuse to recommend local restaurants. Instead, the Ivey House keeps a restaurant review journal with guests' notes, which is a mixed bag, as some guests love the same restaurant that others hated. We had dinner at City Seafood, at a picnic table near the water. Our food was good, would go there again, but it's mostly fried food.

The breakfast at the Ivey House is like a continental breakfast - lots of bread, juice, and coffee.

Room Tip: The inn rooms are large and well equipped.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowgirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Cowgirl41:
We're glad to hear you had a great stay here at the Ivey House and we thank you for sharing your thoughts with others! We're also proud of you for experiencing a swamp walk at Clyde's annual Muckabout days... isn't it great to see the beauty of the Everglades by going right on INTO the Everglades? Thanks again for sharing your thoughts... we hope we'll see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and 10 year old son stayed here for 2 nights while exploring the Everglades. The staff is friendly and the rooms comfortable. The rooms are on the smaller side and a bit dated but the Ivey House has a quaintness about it. There is a screened in pool which was great for my son in the evening. There is also a free breakfast which was simple yet satisfying.

The Ivey House also offers canoe and kayak tours. We did not take the tours as some are a bit pricey for 3 of us. You can take boat tours in the National Park which are less expensive. You can also rent canoes for the dayt at a very low cost. The hotel is very close to the park's entrance which makes it a great location!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaco2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Jaco2010:
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with others: we're happy to hear you had a good experience with us. We hope we'll see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were at Ivey House for 3 nights. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was a great start to every activity packed day. The room was clean and comfortable. The pool was a nice place to cool down after a day in the heat. We toured with Chris on his Swam Buggy. The only negative was that 4 hours went by too fast!! He was very knowledgable and accommodating. We went kayaking with Troy, who was so much fun! And we took an airboat 'cruise' with Fred, who really knows how to do those U-turns. I will review each of these separately, along with the restaurants where we ate. I would definitely recommend the Ivey House for a nice, hospitable place to stay while enjoying the Everglades!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbtravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear dbtravelor:
Thank you for all your wonderful comments: we're happy you enjoyed the Ivey House and really excited you got to experience some of the amazing adventures we offer our guests. Thank you for sharing all your thoughts on each adventure... I know Chris, Troy and Fred are happy to see your comments, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Nice place to prepare tour on the Everglades.
Staff very patient wii french family to explain and explain how to discover the everglades in canoe !
Room is very confortable and acces to the inside pool is very nice (after the 4 hours in canoe, it was very friendly to get a break in a pool).
All the family recommend that hotel...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCRoadRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear JC Roaderunner:
Thank you for sharing your experiences with others - we sure are glad you had a great stay and were able to enjoy one of our amazing kayak tours. We enjoyed having your family here and hope you will visit us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Clean; affordable; helpful staff; well located. Clean. decent-sized room. Comfortable bed. Nice free breakfast. Easy to use website with good, accurate information.

A well-run establishment offering a square deal. Will visit again.

Room Tip: The Ivey House offers three different lodging options. Be sure to know the difference.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews