We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price”
Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Our first trip to the Everglades brought us to the Ivey house. They offer a great package for rooms and excursions into the glades. The room was very clean and roomy. Breakfast was hot with lots of choices for a 'continental'. They made us box lunches both days which were really good. The only thing I can say not good was the pool could have been a little more heated since it was advertised as heated.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Dear BillMu3467:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're very happy to hear you enjoyed one of our many packages, although I'm sorry our pool wasn't quite as warm as you had hoped. We keep the thermostat set at 78 degrees, hoping it will meet the needs of most of our guests while also keeping an eye on our energy usage... we're proud to be a Certified Green property and energy usage factors into that equation. (I totally understand your thoughts, though... as an almost lifelong Floridian, I like my pool water to be around 85 degrees!!)
Thanks again for staying with us: we hope we'll see you back here in the Everglades again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
There are newer reviews for Ivey House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

Ivey House is a perfect base from which to visit the Everglades. The staff was most helpful in suggesting hikes, boat trips and sites to visits. Good breakfast, fine rooms, nice pool.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Dear ijg1018:
Thank you for your short and sweet comments: we're very happy you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Ivey House! Happy travels to you - we hope we'll see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The Ivey House is the place to stay for exploring Big Cypress Swamp and the northern Everglades. The inn is quiet and perfectly clean and comfortable. Staff are very informative and helpful re where to see what, where there are trails, etc. Very good buffet breakfast. The Ivey house coordinates with North American Canoe/Kayak Tours to make canoe/kayak exploration easy. Guide John was exceptional on the early morning kayak trip with just the right amount and kind of information. Overall we would highly recommend the Ivey House and North American tours for experiencing this part of Florida.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Dear Carol T:
Thank you for your great comments... we're happy you had a great time here at the Ivey House and on one of our EvergladesAdventures.com guided kayak tours! John has been around for a long time, and he certainly does a great job communicating his exceptional knowledge of the area flora and fauna... which in the Everglades is pretty amazing. Thank you for sharing your thoughts: we're very happy you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed two nights in the 'cottage' by the side of the main guest house. It wasn't huge nor was it luxurious bu it was ideally placed for the small supermarket at the garage, restaurants and all attractions. The cottage itself is quirky and a refreshing change from corporate sameness. It's perfectly clean and equipped for what you need on a short stay. Just one thing was missing - a kettle for tea drinkers!
Ivey House itself serves great breakfasts and the little pool area was a welcome place to relax at the end of hot busy days. The gift shop had good postcards and useful 'adventure' gear if you forget anything. Best of all was watching the osprey taking fish to the telegraph pole nest!

Room Tip: The cottage is two nights minimum but a great option if you like space and privacy.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Dear judith h:
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences here at the Ivey House and in our Cottage: we're happy you enjoyed your time here in the little town of Everglades. I'll be sure to pass your request about having a tea kettle in the Cottage along to our GM: what a great suggestion! Thanks again for staying with us: we appreciate you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

If you are looking for luxe resorts this is not the place. if you want to see what life is like in "old" florida and have an eco adventure worthy of a national geographic trip then this is the place to come. Sort of like upscale camping this was once a hunting/fishing lodge i believe. There were 5 of us... so we rented the cottage which has 2 bedrooms while our friends had a lovely room in the main house. Nothing fancy but very clean and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The big draw here are the eco trips that run out of the Ivey House. Do not miss the kayak trip on the Turner River. Our guide Chris was great. But we also found every one super friendly....Cory was great as well. Next trip I would like to try out the East River which our guide told us was also a special treat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Dear stephen g:
Thanks for your wonderful comments! We're very happy to hear you enjoyed the Ivey House, its cottage and the guided kayak trips we offer. You should definitely come back sometime to visit the East River paddle route, especially on one of our sunset tours... they're amazing! We'll be sure to let Chris and Corey know about your generous comments, and we'll be watching for your return! Happy and safe travels in the meantime!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Ivey House and used it for our starting off point for kayaking and hiking. We loved it! The room was spacious and clean, not brand new and limited TV channels but we were there to enjoy nature so it wasn't a big deal. The breakfast was great: cereal, eggs, a meat, toast, bagels, boiled eggs, fruit, juice, milk, coffee, hot tea, hot chocolate. The bed was comfortable and the AC worked very well. The staff was great! My husband cut his finger pretty badly on our Jeeps back door and the staff helped to clean up the little mess. They were so understanding and cared about his wellbeing more than anything else. It is a little pricey but there is a good reason, it is the best show in town and it so close to everything in the parks. It makes for a great spot to relax after a long day of exploring. Our kayaking route, Turner River was 15 minutes down the road, Shark Valley was the furthest away we went, it took 1 hour to get there. Tons of trails and exploring within a few minutes drive. We truly had a great time and would go back again! We loved it!

Room Tip: Stay in the Inn if you want a private bath and a more modern room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CateyLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Dear CateyLeigh:
It sounds like you had a fantastic time on your visit with us here in Everglades City, and we sure do appreciate you taking the time to share your knowledge and experiences with others! I'm sorry to hear about your husband's finger injury... but also glad our staff could be such a help. Please do come back and visit us again sometime: we'll look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Having missed out on staying here due to not making prior reservations on our previous trip to Everglades City, I was sure we wanted to stay here when our dear friends suggested we all take this trip together. So for 5 adults, we booked the cottage and an en suite room. Between the 5 of us, we enjoyed our own cocktails on the screened in porch and made good use of the kitchen for a fast lunch one day before heading out on the amazing kayak tour of Big Cypress, which we booked right at the front desk. We loved the convenience of the well-supplied, healthy, filling and fresh breakfast, the cleanliness of bathrooms and rooms, and most of all, the well informed friendly staff. We needed a cork screw and hair dryer at different times, and they were each supplied immediately. No, it's not the Four Seasons, but to paraphrase another writer, if you need a place like that, then this town is not for you. But if you are coming down to experience a unique habitat and "Old Florida," then there is no better place to stay than the Ivey House! Thanks, Ivey staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saba888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Dear saba888:
Wow! We are so happy to hear that we were everything you wanted us to be... it's so wonderful to have happy guests who enjoy their stays with us and appreciate our efforts to do everything we can to ensure our visitors are satisfied. We are so fortunate to be in such a beautiful place with all the amazing nature that surrounds us - that said, we're also happy you enjoyed one of our guided EvergladesAdventures.com kayak trips. Thank you again for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.1 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.7 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.6 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range: $93 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing