We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be Fabulous”
Review of Rod and Gun Club

Rod and Gun Club
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Could Be Fabulous”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

It you enjoy historic settings for restaurants that have catered to famous people, stop here and take a tour.
But if you want excellent food and excellent service this establishment of cabins and restaurant will not suit you. My father took us there because it once had a good reputation but it has not kept up with the times.
The seafood was mediocre at best and the wait staff could care less.
Be sure to douse yourself with mosquito repellant before exiting your car or better yet don't bother getting out.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fsanders2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    107
    77
    70
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sao Tome
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Experience Old Florida here.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Rod and Gun Club take you back in time about 100 years to old Florida. In those days I probably wouldn't have been admitted as it was a gathering place of the monied elite. Today it is a bed and breakfast. The hardwood floors and paneled walls and ceiling create a dark, cool atmosphere and reminding me of a men's smoking parlor. We took in the sights and toured the building before settling into a table for lunch. We both opted for a blackened grouper sandwich that was to die for! I must say that some of the servers are surly, but our young lady was wonderful. The patio is all screened in with a great view of the canal. Overall, we had great food, setting and service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaoTomeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beyond laid-back”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My sister and niece came over from Ireland around Easter. So after driving them along the Loop Road, in Big Cypress Swamp to see some gators and wading birds, we thought we'd show them a real slice of Old Florida. We got to the Rod & Gun Club early afternoon, but after the lunchtime peak. We seated ourselves on the porch (as directed by a sign at the entrance to the restaurant) and enjoyed the view of the river, and the cool breeze as we waited....and waited....and waited. We saw the five occupied tables dwindle to three, and by our count there were at least four waitresses in attendance. Never mind getting a glass of water or a menu, we couldn't even get eye contact! After around fifteen to twenty minutes we'd had as much "atmosphere" as we could handle, and headed over to the Seafood Depot, which was wonderful. If you have to eat at the Rod & Gun Club, bring a sandwich.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandMMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gives you a sense of days gone by”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Charming place with lots of history. If you love antiques, this place is full of them. We ate lunch here 2 times while staying at Marco Island. Fish and crab cakes were delicious.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank momofmoms4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Miserable Service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant was very disappointing. The food was nothing special and the service couldn't have been worse. We had to ask a second server to help get our orders. Have a drink, look at the lobby and eat somewhere else.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AIS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rod and Gun Club also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rod and Gun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing