We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax in real Florida history” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rod and Gun Club

Rod and Gun Club
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Miami
Level Contributor
398 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Relax in real Florida history”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

There is no rush here, so there is plenty of time to soak up the historical ambiance of this rare relic. We had lunch on the screened porch looking out on the mangrove swamp and the river. Service was very slow, but pleasant. Lunch took an hour and a half. We had the fried fish sandwich and fried shrimp on a roll, both were very good. The key lime pie was also tangy and cold, they way we like it.

While we waited for our food we took turns wandering around the lobbies, reading all the historic newspaper clippings on the wall. Truth is stranger than fiction.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    98
    71
    66
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“RUN AWAY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Absolutely the worst experience. 4 of us went for lunch knowing it would be leisurely but worth the drive. NOT> Aside from bringing our appetizers and entrees at the same time, after a good 45 min. wait, the food was way below average. Soggy shrimp, bottled salad dressing, limp salad.....
Then my entree was not there ...when we inquired, the waitress forgot to enter it. OK..annoying but an honest mistake. Since the rest of our party was already eating, i asked her to please expedite my order. She came back about 6-8 minutes later and said there were at least 5 orders before mine and it would be at least another 20-25 minutes. I courteously explained that we had been patiently waiting and they should really expedite my order. No they would not. OK what could they get me quickly.....'only a salad' in about 10 minutes. That had been my appetizer so i surely didn't want another. I asked for the manager. The waitress came back and said the manager was 'too busy'. I asked another waitress (thnking perhaps this one was not too swift). Manager never came or even sent someone else.
When we left and i paid my bill (truthfully, they should have offered to waive it. they did not), the very young girl at the desk(not busy at all) said she was the manager and had just heard of this issure. Clearly some one was lying. Regardless, not only was the food not acceptable, the customer service was unforgivable. All tolled, we were there over 2 hours. NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank parpro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The food was great and it was nice to sit outisde on the screened in porch. It was a very pleasant lunch

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vadraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, KY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Neat place to walk through but don't eat here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for lunch at this unique historical location. It was neat to see. We ordered food and got the smoked fish appetizer quickly. But then waited 45 minutes more and still no more food. This was the norm the day we were here. We finally got and order of onion rings and they were cold! We threw $20 on the table and left.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank powercarsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
254 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A swamp classic. Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Taxidermy, 70s decor, poolside dining, great seafood. Good key lime pie. A swamp classic. Service is a little slow.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank micchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rod and Gun Club also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rod and Gun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing