We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boats but ...”

Everglades City Airboat Tours
Ranked #6 of 34 Tours in Everglades City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ONLY Tour to offer two way communication headsets!! Come with us and experience the finest fully narrated Everglades Airboat Tour Everglades City has to offer. We are the "Original" airboat company. We are locally owned, locally operated. All of our Captains are born and raised in South Florida and will give you a "True" Everglades Experience! Book an Everglades City Airboat Tour with any one of our "Professional, Courteous, and Knowledgeable" guides and enjoy the Everglades experience of a lifetime! Our Everglades Tour Airboats hold a maximum of six passengers for a more personable experience and our tour guides are USCG licensed and insured and will provide you with everything you need for a memorable Everglades Airboat experience. We are conveniently located just minutes from Naples, Marco Island and Ft. Myers Florida
Gadsden, AL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice boats but ...”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Boat and captain were good but essentially traveled through mangrove canals. Experience further south with Seminole Indians more exciting and across more water and grasslands. Did see aligator in water and friendly racoons. Visit City Grill for stone crab lunch!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jvfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce M, Owner at Everglades City Airboat Tours, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed yourselves. We don't travel through canals, They are small narrow creeks and open waterways.

Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,132
    213
    38
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip with Captain Gary”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We used this company for an airboat tour this past summer based on the high ratings of TripAdvisor. It was such a great trip that we returned today with our two 16-yr-old granddaughters from Canada. Once again, a phenomenal trip, this time with Captain Gary who went out of his way to ensure we could see as much wildlife as possible and to ensure we had a thrilling ride through the mangroves! The girls loved it as did the grandparents! Thanks Gary! We will return!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikehryniw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
1 review
“Captain Gary was first rate”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband chose this outfit due to their long history in the air boat biz and the headsets equipped with microphones. All of that was great but we were very pleased with our airboat Captain Gary. He was extremely accommodating to our two eight-year old daughters. He made sure everyone (especially the girls) were able to see the manatees (we saw three or four) as well as a couple of gators, a raccoon and a (spoiler alert) very large spider. Captain Gary was very well-informed and an excellent captain. The boat ride alone was amazing!!! Captain Gary was great with the kids and took some awesome photos of us ( on multiple phones, his suggestion, so nice). The trip was $200 for one hour and totally worth it. Would do it again. It was a blast and Gary is a great asset to your organization, after we left, we all agreed the trip was great but Gary was the best.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoDeVine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Time”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Picked this operator because of the tripadvisor rating and was not disappointed. Josh was our driver and guide and did a very good job at both. We were able to see several things that he brought to the groups attention. All in all a good trip and not too expensive. Would easily recommend to anyone.
Randall

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tbucit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglaston, new york
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was "okay"...”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We took a private tour for one hour at a whopping $250, excluding tip. Best part? Flying through the mangroves at about 50mph. Saw 2 gators, manatee bubbles, a crow, a glimpse of a tarantula, and a couple blue herons. Got a detailed and very lengthy personal history of the airboat captain who is a native Everglades resident, as well as some interesting information about the flora and fauna of the salt-water mangrove Everglades.

All-in-all, minus the tarantula sighting, I honestly could have done all this via Internet and taken a fast airboat ride in a local lake that has the same wildlife. If you want a mild to moderate adrenaline rush and don't mind dropping some serious coin for an hour, then this is for you.

However if you want to experience actual wildlife, I'd suggest a gentle canoe ride down the waterways where the animals don't get blown away or scared off by the high-decibel propelling blades that make an airboat what it is. Lesson learned. Next time I'm all for the canoe and saving the $ for dinner or three afterwards.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank krusers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce M, Owner at Everglades City Airboat Tours, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I want to thank you for your review. I want to address some of the points in your review.
1- The cost of the tour was $250 because you requested the entire boat for your group of 3.
2- As to doing all this on the internet; The internet couldn't put in the middle of the mangrove
jungles on the airboat. If so there would be no need for tripadvisor, everyone could go on
vacation on their computer.
3- As to the ACTUAL wild life. What wildlife you saw was real wildlife.
Wildlife is wildlife no matter what form of transportation you use to get to their habitat.

Once again, To all reviewers:
Attitude and personally of a individual dictates the out come of life's experience's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everglades City Airboat Tours also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Everglades City Airboat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing