We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to expectations or internet description”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Captain's Table Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We booked this place on-line several months in advance and were very disappointed. There was no wi-fi access from the room, and you would have to go close to the lobby to receive any signal. No coffee maker (although coffee in lobby in morning). No alarm clock. Small, very HARD, double beds instead of queen beds. No maid service unless you want to pay extra for this (you're supposed to request new towels when needed). We decided to stay in south Naples and make the 40 minute drive and get all the amenities at a major brand motel for the SAME price. Rooms adequate, but much smaller and older than any of the major brand name chain motels.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phamfamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for The Captain's Table Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 193 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2011

Hotel is right by the water in middle of town. Next door to a good restaurant (all you can eat shrimp and salad bar $8.95 for example). Not the largest town in the world and very quiet in January, but ideally situated for exploring The Everglades including all the usual trips (fishing, air boats, kayaaking, alligators etc.).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annacole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

this was a nice hotel with a great location. The people were nice with a great location. The rooms had a small kitchenette which was nice.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
Thank gozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Adequate place for a couple of days, as a jump off for all day touring. Not a place where you would hang out in the room. Ours was on the 2nd floor, had a nice screened porch with a side view to the water and a front view to the parking lot. Several restaurants very close by. Room A/C the loudest and most musical I have met. Since hotels are limited in number within Everglades City the prices are higher than comparables where there is more competition.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lifeisshort42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

My husband and I recently visited the Everglades and stayed at the Captains Table. The rooms literally felt like a jail cell and you could hear everything through the walls. The rooms appeared clean but whatever cleaner they used lingered in the room and smelled awful. This place is in desperate need of an update. The price is cheap, but I expected something at least along the lines of a Motel 6. The Everglades, however are AMAZING! Next time we go back we will try to camp instead.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigerShark500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Arrived at the end of the afternoon and made to feel a nuisance when we entered the lobby. Choice out of two rooms with and without a balcony. Rooms are extremely basic and giving the price we could not expect a great deal but these were only just acceptable.
Breakfast was very poor as there was no cutlery, no milk, just horrible diluted orange juice.The 'care take' had no interest. The Everglades made up for it all.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxgrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Overall, the Captain’s Table Hotel was a good choice for our 2-night stay in Everglades City and we would choose it again under similar circumstances. We were comfortable and did not experience any problems, but we were a bit under whelmed by the “luxury waterfront apartment.” The unit we had did not look as newly-renovated as the one pictured on the Website. Amenities were minimal; the bathroom did not have a hair dryer and the kitchen had few utensils, no coffee starter pack and the fridge was set so low that fruit we stored there froze overnight. The bed and bedding were budget motel style—no luxury there. On the positive side, there were plenty of towels (which were changed the first morning even though we had not asked for maid service), the bathroom was clean and functional and the bedroom was very pleasant to wake up in – bird songs galore, a little blue heron stalking at the nearby water’s edge and red-bellied woodpeckers on the utility poles in front of our porch. If you are going to stay for more than a day or two and want to use the kitchen, I recommend bringing groceries from out of town, as the neighborhood “supermarket” offers slim pickings. There are good seafood markets, but cookware and availability of other ingredients is limited. (Try finding a farmers’ market on Marco Island or in Naples on your way.) The office personnel were friendly upon our arrival and departure, but because office hours are limited, we never did get to grab the morning “coffee and toast” or use the WiFi, which is only accessible in the lounge. It was pleasant to have breakfast in our screened porch and I would go prepared to do that (including bringing coffee) on a return visit. It would be a great convenience if the WiFi were extended to cover the apartments and if the bathroom had a hair dryer. (Mmaybe the office had one to lend, but the limited hours made it a moot point for me.) I would also spiff up the apartment substantially more before listing it as “luxury.” To me it’s infinitely more pleasing to have one’s expectations exceeded than to be disappointed by an unmerited appellation. . By the way, on TripAdvisor there are two listings for the same property, one as The Captain’s Table Hotel and one as The Captain’s Table Lodge and Villas; they are the same property, but the option to write a review did not appear under the Hotel listing. The address is the same and Captain’s Table Hotel is how it was listed in my email confirmation directly from the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tellurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
3.2 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
10.6 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
21.8 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
639 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.2 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Table Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Table Lodge

Address: 102 E Broadway, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Price Range: $79 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain's Table Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Captain's Table Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain`s Table Lodge And Villas Hotel Everglades City
The Captains Table Hotel
The Captains Table Motel
The Captain's Table Lodge Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing