We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice table and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Captain's Table Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice table and great service”
Reviewed May 16, 2007

I have to say that I was not expecting much when I entered the restaurant by pure chance with my brother. We had decided to go for dinner outside of our motel and we really had no clue that we would make such a nice discovery. The restaurant looks a little bizarre especially in the inside but we asked to be seated outside in front od the water and it was a great time, as memorable as the rest of our trip to the everglades. Ou waiter (young and smiling, cant remember his name though) was very well mannered and very polite. The food was delicious but it is the service and the view (sunset and water) that made it special. I would recommend to seat close to the water on the outside and not to late...

  • Liked — The service, the food, the view
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnfromparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    62
    64
    30
    18
See reviews for
50
87
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

Given some of the previous reviews we approached our overnight stay at the Captain's Table with some trepidation but we had a reasonable experience.

The lady who greeted us was actually English and very helpful, offering to show us one of the 2 bedroom apartments to see if we would have preferred it to our two separate rooms both with balcony and screen.

The usual complaint about lack of power outlets is totally valid especially with the number of appliances which we all need to charge these days. However, this hotel is no problem at all for an overnight - wouldn't really recommend it for a longer stay though.

Breakfast was as other reviewers had described so we wandered over to the gas station and their Subway franchise. The breakfast took a long time but we put that down to their employee not understanding English - made it quite difficult really, especially as he also seemed to think that we were insane asking for a sandwich with only bacon on it. Perhaps bacon sandwiches are illegal in some way in South Florida?

Everglades City is very interesting and the Totch Airboat tour was excellent. The Ten Thousand Island boat tour was also worth a look.

Give The Captain's Table a go - you know you want to.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tired appearance
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gremlin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, East Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2007

We chose the Captain's Table Hotel as one of the other places didn't respond to our email, and we needed a night in the Everglades en route to Orlando. Check-in wasn't a hugely entertaining experience, nor was the walk up to our room through a rather uninviting stair lobby. The room was OK but not special, although the balcony did add a useful facility for getting away from the kids! We had a good night's sleep however and the room and locality were nice and quiet after dark. One strange point: why is there a distinct lack of usable power points in the room? Also, we feel that the guy who checked us in could have told us about the pool which is nicely situated beside the very picturesque lake, but not immediately visible from either the hotel lobby or our room. He did however point us in the direction of the restaurant 100yds away which was fine for simple honest food. Beware though that it shuts at 9:30 (although I don't know if that's only in the winter).
Do not stay at this hotel for the breakfast!!! The supermarket at the gas station down the road is a better bet.
Everglades City is a real find, and if our schedule had allowed we would have liked a little longer to explore. But do make sure to take time out to have an airboat ride - we used Everglades Private Airboat Tours on US41, and would recommend them to anyone.
This hotel is nothing special but it is a good place to stay for just one night - I would be a little bit hesitant about a longer time. Perhaps a little bit more attention to detail (and new carpets!)would lift the whole place up a bit.....

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LetsBoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2007

After reading the many horrific reviews of a couple of Florida City hotels, we decided to stay at Everglades City during our trip to Everglades National Park. We just wanted a clean and quiet place, nothing fancy which is pretty much what we got at Captain's Table. We stayed in the hotel room with a balcony for 3 nights. For a few dollars extra for the balcony, it was nice to sit outside overlooking the parking lot watching the kitties or the screened in porch if the bugs were bothersome. The air-conditioning unit pumped hot air into the screened porch but actually, it wasn't too bad. I get the feeling the apartment rooms are much nicer and updated, but the hotel room was adequate with a mini fridge. There were very few available electrical outlets which was a curious problem at times.

When we booked the room, I asked if there was internet or wireless connection. The woman in charge said that if I had a laptop with a strong antenna, I would have access off her network. When we got in the room, there was a weak signal and we didn't know the password. When we asked the man at the front desk for the password, he looked at us as if we were insane and said we had to go to the library for internet access. Though this was a vacation, my husband had a few things to take care of and it was a serious damper. We had the unfortunate luck checking in on Sunday, Monday was Martin Luther King Jr. Day and the library was closed both days. We considered going into Naples but decided to wait til Tuesday. As I was walking away after asking the woman at the front desk for directions to the library, she told me if I brought my laptop down to the breakfast room, I would be able to access her wireless network. Kind of wished we spoke with her on Sunday.... Network was fast and good reception down there but not in room.

If you are not an early riser and you book during a 3 day weekend, you might have a rude awakening on Monday, get a away day. The doors slam shut and with the majority of the people leaving right at 8am for check out, it was not fun on Martin Luther King Jr. morning.

A simple "Do not disturb/Please make up room" sign could have facilitated communication. We were exhausted on our first night from traveling and the housekeeping staff knocked on our door 4 times (we responded we were in room each time) that morning . The 3rd time, I was just getting into the shower and told the staff I didn’t need anything but after my shower, the 4th person to knock entered the room anyway even though I shouted I was in the room. While we appreciated the staff’s desire to bring us new towels everyday, it was often during a time that we didn’t wanted to be disturbed and it was more convenient for them. I didn't mind the crying babies that much, but the constant knocking on the door was really irritating.

The management must have a problem with people hoarding powdered donuts at breakfast because it is not allowed to take coffee or donuts out of the breakfast room/lobby. And yet there's a mini fridge in the room. While the donuts were ok, not bad, they were not well stocked on some days after 9am. One is probably better served to go to the town supermarket next door and picking up your own breakfast. It is interesting to listen to the locals congregate at the store.

Despite some of the negatives, the Captain's Table is not a bad place to stay. It was clean and quiet at night. Grabbing a drink at the Seafood Depot bar next door overlooking the water was nice. We drove through Florida City at the end of our trip and we were so glad we didn't stay there. The quiet, country atmosphere of Everglades City was what we wanted.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank vsoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2007

We found it very easy to book the room online, and were looking forward to the visit. Upon arrival, we entered the office and were greeted with a surly response to our "hello." The worker at the desk was unkempt, with remnants of her lunch on her blouse, and she continued dealing with us in a hostile manner. We were taken aback, but finally just had to accept that this was the level of service we could expect. The room was a bit disheveled, with the curtains pulling off the rods, no shampoo in the bath, and the hall carpet outside the room was very stained and dirty. We were happy to leave the next morning. We will not repeat the visit.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelwrestler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Everglades City hotels

Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2006

We stayed here in for 2 nights in October 06, we stayed in a room in the main block of the hotel with a screened balcony, the room was basic, but comfortable and clean, David & Maggie that run the hotel were fantastic hosts, there is a nice heated pool overlooking the lake with loungers etc. The hotel is situated in the most traquil location with lots of wildlife everywhere you look, our hosts suggested lots to do in the area, airboat rides, the thousand island boat trip, Everglades City museum, and some very interesting drives down dirt roads into the heart of the Everglades where we saw Alligators, Turtles etc. The weather was fantastic and we had a great time. We will hopefully be paying Maggie, David and The Captains Table another visit next year.

  • Liked — It was clean with a good balcony and views
  • Disliked — The breakfast didn`t have much variety
  • Tips/Secrets — Get out and about
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2006

We decided to stay here in an impromptu way when we were driving around the Everglades, and asked for one of their nicest rooms. We got a great room overlooking the lake, with a spa bath in the bathroom. This wasn't a luxury place, but it was clean and very nicely presented. The bed was comfortable and big, with bath robes laid out on it. There was a lovely big terrace balcony looking out over the lake, which was really beautiful. We had a living room and kitchen area, again nice and big but we didn't really use either much. The bathroom was massive with a huge shower unit and said spa bath, which although very nice had rather disconcerting yellow/browny water. I guess mud is meant to be good for you. The lady at reception was very pleasant and friendly, again quite quirky like the whole place really. There was a heated pool area, nice big pool with sun loungers and tables round it, nice a warm and clean. The hotel is also right next to a good seafood restaurant called the seafood depot, very convenient. I'm not sure I've described this very well, its hard to explain - we really enjoyed our stay here, it had a small town feel to it, not very touristy, quite lazy and laid back. I'm glad we stayed here and would stay again, it was quite a unique experience.

  • Liked — The fantastic scenery
  • Disliked — The yellow water in the bath
  • Tips/Secrets — Seafood depot next door does good breakfasts and has a lovely terrace with a swing on it
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Frogwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.6 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.2 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.8 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.3 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Table Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Table Lodge

Property: The Captain's Table Lodge
Address: 102 E Broadway, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain's Table Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your The Captain's Table Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain`s Table Lodge And Villas Hotel Everglades City
The Captains Table Hotel
The Captains Table Motel
The Captain's Table Lodge Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing