We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Captain's Table Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Stayed at the Captain's Table Hotel. Definately worth the extra few dollars for the screened in porch. The room was comfy and good tv reception. There was a small fridge and the bathroom had a great shower. We spent most of the day on an everglades fishing tour with no luck, so would have liked to have just stayed at the hotel longer by the pool. The pool was wonderful. The front desk very helpful. Breakfast was continental, but plentiful and good to start your day. As stated in other reviews everything closes early. The restaurant next door was wonderful and we noticed people entering and being served even after it was closed. We ate outside on the patio of the restaurant and as soon as the sun went down, the mosquitos and black flies came out in a vengence. So eat inside or in the screened area of the restaurant at nighttime. Pretty little town, lots to do. I would definately stay here again and take advantage of the boat rides and fishing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannaBeAnIslandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    61
    64
    30
    18
See reviews for
50
87
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We live in Miami and wanted to go somewhere peaceful for the 4th of July weekend on the water. We picked the Captain's Table based on the good rates and locale. The luxury apartment was available and we grabbed it. Having stayed at the Table before in a regular lodge room, we were prepared for outdated furnishings, noise etc. It was the total opposite!! The apartment was adorable and beautifully & tastefully furnished. It was as clean as you could imagine. And so quiet, you could hear your socks drop. The hotel staff were sweet, accommodating and very mannered, forgetting no nuances of the place, which are few.
Our unit had a screened porch overlooking the water which was so pleasant and the highlight. The bedroom is very comfortable and has a sliding glass door on the porch. I slept for 12 hrs one night, it was that comfortable and quiet. When I woke up in the morning, the sun was glistening on the water. Beautiful! Everything worked just perfectly in the unit. Nothing difficult to figure out.
The swimming pool is as clean as I have ever seen anywhere! The pool temp is perfect. Not a lot of noisy kids this time of year so if peace is what you want with a great canoe launching spot right outside your door, this is it!
The greatest secret of is that its not that hot right there on the water, the bugs aren't that bad, don't get me wrong, there are bugs, this is the Everglades, but then again we're not whimps about them. Everglades City is not the Bahamas or the southeast coast....this is a serious, hardcore fishing village. The weather is hot, not as humid and hot as Miami, no beaches, just oldtime Florida. Everything closes at 9. Not much is open during the summer and the places that are will leave you a note. Its laid back city, so don't complain if you go in summertime.
Just what the doctor ordered for us!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

My family and I stopped here for one night during our tour all around Florida. We were in the hotel during low season so we got a very reasonable rate. There was a small facility at reception for breakfast with a small selection.
A nice swimming pool. Rooms could do with a little renovating, but near the airboat tour centres.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthewkav119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Everglades city does not offer a lot of hotels. We choose this one a this was least expensive of all. The room was decent and clean. The complimentary breakfast included just toast, cinnamon buns, orange juice and coffee. On our second day, they even ran out of paper plates. They charge extra money incase we want the room cleaned. The hotel did not have WIFI in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We reviewed their website before booking and was prepared for a budget motel. We also paid the extra $10. for the screened porch and was well worth the cost. While the bed was a little hard, and the air-conditioner a little noisy, the room was very clean. The bathroom was spotless and the towels were better than what we expected. At budget motels the towels are skimpy and small; not the case here. For the price you can't beat it! If you want luxury and willing to pay more stay in Naples. I would recommend this place to my friends explaining it's a no-frills mom and pop establishment, close to the Everglades. We also knew they only served coffee and toast so we ate breakfast at the cafe down the street. We didn't use the pool, too busy, but it looked very clean too. Diane and Bill, Sparks, NV

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Ontario,
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Our anual Motorcycle trip (from Ontario, Canada) would not be the same if there was not a stay at the Captain's Table, wether it be in the Hotel or in one of the well maintained cottages on stilts, it is PARADISE.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkurevija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

JoeFarmVille pretty much said everything I would have.

Listen reviewers - yes, the place is old. Yes, it's not a five star hotel. What the heck did you expect?? I'm shocked at the uppity attitude of people. This is a backwoods, out of the way town in the middle of nowhere. If you're staying in this town, expirence it for what it really is!

Rooms were clean, and for an old place, I felt pretty well maintained. While we were there, the pool area was being finished up from being renovated. I felt it was top notch, especially for this town. It'll look even nicer when they are done with the white fencing around it. It was also in a nice spot where you could overlook the water if you wanted to. The staff was always helpful and friendly. The room rates were maybe a little high for this place, but were extremely reasonable compared to the other places in town. Supply & demand at its best.

The breakfast is very minimal, but free if you want it. Otherwise, show your room key at the place down the road, and you get a 10% discount. If they ask you if you want Chicken Gatorade, that is their southern drawl way of actually asking if you want Chicken or Gator Eggs. Be warned! :-)

The grocery store in town is a joke - the 7-11 down the street has just as good of a selection. So, if you're looking at having any food in the room, you might want to bring it with you into town.

Eat at the Oyster House Restaurant - it's fantastic. Wanted to try the Cuban place on Chokoloskee, but never did make it. I've heard it's great.

The boat tours at the Everglades National Park are reasonably priced, and great, if you're looking for an alternative to all the airboat tours.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Struc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.6 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.2 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.8 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.3 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Table Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Table Lodge

Property: The Captain's Table Lodge
Address: 102 E Broadway, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain's Table Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Captain's Table Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain`s Table Lodge And Villas Hotel Everglades City
The Captains Table Hotel
The Captains Table Motel
The Captain's Table Lodge Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing