We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, very basic accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Captain's Table Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Clean, very basic accommodation.”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

All one has to do is research "Everglades City" and you'll realize that you're not likely to find 4 or 5 star places to stay! This is a really small town.

The Captain's Table is - pretty much - an old school motel. The building, hallways and rooms are quite dated and could use some remodelling. Check-in was fine, if not overly friendly. They warmed up when we started joking around. I suppose that you get what you give.

We got a room away from the road...not that it would have been so busy as to bother anyone. For an extra $10 ($129.00 US), we got one, on the second storey, at the rear of the hotel. The nice surprise is that it included a great, screened-in veranda! This was helpful, as the room, itself, was kind of small, given that we had 2 double beds.

The room included a small fridge (worked great), but no microwave. Very plain, but clean room. Small tv. Small, clean bathroom with new fixtures. Bring your own toiletries. Soap is provided, but not shampoo, etc. The beds were comfortable, if a little firm. Very quiet sleep. It was nice.

No wifi in the rooms. You can get it in the lobby. Ice is located at the base of the stairs. No elevator.

There's an outdoor pool that looked great! Another time, perhaps, though.

Given the size of the town and the very short length of our stay (1 night), this was a reasonable, affordable place to stay.

Room Tip: The town closes up after 9 PM! If you want a drink, you'll have to drive outside town to the Oy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letterdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    63
    64
    30
    18
See reviews for
50
88
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We were in Everglades city for an overnight before a kayak trip. This was a great deal for a small suite. Bedroom, living/dining room, kitchen, and bath. Even had covered parking!

Decent restaurant within walking distance. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed two nights. Room was clean and appropriate for a fishing village. However, the real problem is management and staff. Several people in our party commented to me about the abrupt and unpleasant treatment they experienced by staff and the comment was consistent with the abrupt treatment we experienced. While they are not offensive, at least to us, they are not who you want to do business with. I suggest that you read the one and two ratings for this motel and see the consistency in the comments and look at the number of those reviews compared to the total number of reviews. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Voyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Everglades City hotels

Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I booked a room for Jan. 27, planning to extend a stay that was already scheduled for Jan. 28 and 29 with a group I belong to. I booked the room on approximately Dec. 21. The desk clerk made an error in the reservation and booked me for Dec. 27, not Jan. 27. The owner/manager called me on Dec. 28 and said I would have to pay for my missed reservation on Dec. 27. I told her the reservation was for Jan. 27 and that I would not pay for a reservation made on the wrong date. she was insistent that I must pay for Dec. 27, or she would "not allow" me to keep the reservations for Jan. 27,28 and 29. Needless to say, I missed the trip with my group, but I will never book a reservation with this establishment again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marydblk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Very high price for an old style motel that has not been upgraded other than paint, new bathroom light fixtures and TV. If you want your beds made or towels changed then there is an extra fee. The towels in the room had black smudges on them and you don't get many of them. No shampoo or conditioner provided and the soaps are the size of a communion wafer. Very few outlets and outlet next to sink was so old that it would not hold a plug. There is also no coffee maker in the room but you can get some in the lobby.
Be aware that there is a late check in fee if you check in after hours.
Pluses are that the hotel is conveniently located to the park and the room was fairly clean, nice big porch that overlooked the parking lot on one side and the water in the corner. There is a small fridge in the room
The old train depot restaurant that is adjacent to the hotel is very good, great seafood buffet and wonderful service.

Room Tip: Get a corner room with a porch for a nicer view otherwise you only overlook the parking lot. Not sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Beirutgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Well, this is Everglades City and there isn't much by way of accommodations around the area. We stayed in the villas which were spacious and clean but needed a little TLC. A bit pricey for what you get. But great location for visiting the Everglades and that was the main thing we were looking for If you go, be sure to eat at the Camellia Street Grill. The food is wonderful, very fresh and the atmosphere fun and funky.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelmom1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Not much more to say really, the young man who checked us in was very friendly, the room was a reasonable size and although the hotel looked "tired" the rooms and the bathroom were spotless.
We arrived late in the day so didn't get a chance to use the pool but is was in a great spot overlooking the river and looked clean and inviting. The food in the restraurant next door was nice and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
3.2 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
10.6 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
21.8 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.3 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Table Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Table Lodge

Property: The Captain's Table Lodge
Address: 102 E Broadway, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain's Table Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Captain's Table Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain`s Table Lodge And Villas Hotel Everglades City
The Captains Table Hotel
The Captains Table Motel
The Captain's Table Lodge Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing