We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We did ride on a recomendation, and i would also recomend it to others”

Capt Mitch's - Everglades Private Airboat Tours
Ranked #10 of 34 Tours in Everglades City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Captain Mitch's Thrilling Everglades airboat tours. The only all grassland airboat tour in the Everglades city area. Owned and operated by one of the oldest families in Everglades city Florida.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We did ride on a recomendation, and i would also recomend it to others”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

On the US 41 south of naples. If you arrive at the Chamber of Conmerce you have gone half a mile too far. Don't be put off by its appearance it is very good.
The tour is to experience the wildlife, mainly Gators and you will see quite a few. The boat races thro the everglades but is quite safe. I did not want a high speed ride it was quite quick at times but very enjoyable.
Afterwards i would recomend carrying onto the Turner River Road abd driving a few miles along there whereyou can see lots of birds alligators etc. Stop off at the boardwalk at the entrance as there may well be several gators there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitch h, Owner at Capt Mitch's - Everglades Private Airboat Tours, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thanks for your review of Everglades private airboat tours. Were glad you had a great time here in the Everglades and hope you return soon to south fl. My apologies for the looks of some of the building we are now in the slow season and remodeling the building for the season coming. Thanks Mitch h
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    118
    32
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would use this company again”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Chose them from other reviews on Trip Advisor. They are a small operation which my family really enjoyed. We did not feel like on of the masses that we saw later in the day down in Everglade city. Those other operations seemed like Disney land with boats coming and going.
Captain Rick was very friendly, took his time with my three kids to show them the alligators seen from the dock prior to our tour and answer questions that they kept tossing his way in the operations buidling. We saw several alligators, went thru grass and mangrove areas. Was a blast. We realized several hours later that we forgot to take a family photo of us all in the boat and passing back after lunch we stopped by. Rick had no problem sitting us back in one of their boats, allowing each child to man the captains chair, and took several pictures. That is the beauty of their one on one appraoch. There is a road recommended by other reviewers and Capt Rick named Turner River off of 41S (7 miles from rt 29 and 41 jxn) that enters into a gravel road and park. Go past the entrance and information kiosk and keep driving slowley. You will see dozens of gators along the banks to the right. Saty in car as a few came up onto the bank to sun. make it part of your trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank afather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a blast!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Spent about one hour on the boat with the family. Enjoyed every minute of the tour. Well worth the trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
424 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“This is the great tour.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The tour is staffed with friendly and knowledgeable guides. It was wonderful going through the mangroves and getting up front and close to the alligators. If you like birds like I do you'll enjoy the many species found here. At the end of the tour my daughter got to hold a baby alligator. Arrive early and pay the price of admission. It's worth every penny.

Helpful?
1 Thank HenryChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitch h, Owner at Capt Mitch's - Everglades Private Airboat Tours, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We have many species of bird life on our 10 sq mile private preserve and we love to show them off to our customers. Glad you enjoyed the tour and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The captain was very knowledgable and friendly. We saw alligators and a variety of birds. Had fun.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capt Mitch's - Everglades Private Airboat Tours also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Capt Mitch's - Everglades Private Airboat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing