We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Everglades National Park Boat Tours

Everglades National Park Boat Tours
Ranked #12 of 35 Tours in Everglades City
Certificate of Excellence
Bochum, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We took the mangrove wilderness tour and the first one of the day. The ride itself was amazing, we went into narrow mangrove forests, where you can actually touch the trees. We saw numerous birds, some of them were unique and amazing, like great blue heron, or a awesome pink bird called roseate spoonbill. I have not done the 10000 island tour, but for mangrove wilderness, taking the first trip is a really good idea, as there were hundreds of birds there just before entering the narrow mangrove forest and they flied guiding our boat to the forest. So the next boats actually could not see them. We saw a manatee, and couple of other animals too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pramita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    113
    40
    25
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“White pelicans and jumping dolphins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We originally went to take an airboat ride, but due to the long wait we opted out. Instead we drove down to the Everglades National Park Boat Tours and I am so glad we did. There was a short wait to get on the boat, the boat ride was longer, and it was less expensive. The boat captain and ranger were great tour guides and very funny. They went out of their way to make sure we saw as much as possible. We saw various species of birds, including the white pelicans, and we saw a lot of dolphins. The captain was able to "pick up the dolphin" so it jumped and played in the wake of the boat for at least five minutes. It was better than Sea World. I would highly recommend this boat tour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“10,000 Islands, 90 minutes, 15 dolphins, 5 stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We visited at the end of December, and booked a sunset ride through the 10,000 Islands area to cap our couple of days in the Everglades. We had our passes well in advance, but there wasn't concerns of a sellout - indeed the vibe here was quite different than the rest of Everglades National Park, less visited and more laid-back.

The boat ride was 90 minutes through the islands, hitting its heights halfway when we came across a pod of dolphins, probably about 10-15 of them, flipping and such. That made the trip in itself, but we also enjoyed beautiful scenery (and that was with overcast skies) and a variety of birds - from memory, ibis, blue herons, gulls, and about 100 pelicans that had just arrived and were camped on a sandbar.

Can't compare this to the other concessioner boat rides in ENP, but I was wholly satisfied and it was a nice bridge on our trip between the more typical Everglades experience (river of grass, alligators, etc) and the Gulf Coast. Plus it's the only part of the park with restaurants in close proximity - gotta love that!

Helpful?
1 Thank ScottInPTC-GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So so”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The description of the 10,000 Island boat ride was that it "weaves through one of the worlds largest mangrove forest", but we just went straight out and straight back. (The tide was very low -- so perhaps the captain of the ship could not go where one usually goes but in that case the passengers should have been warned ahead of time.) What one sees probably affects how people rate and review the trip: we saw an osprey, two raccoons, some white pelicans, commonly seen birds, and one dolphin that simply rolled over several times exposing his dorsal fin. The price ($31.80 per adult) seemed high for what one got in a 1.5 hour boat ride.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S_Alan_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Dolphin fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

At the park marinia, you can take a 1 1/2 hour cruise on a pontoon boat out of Everglades City to the gulf and back. Along the way you can see lots of birds and the many mangrove islands in the park. When you make it to the gulf, we saw at least a dozen dolphins playing around and swimming with the boat. They would jump out of the water and splash as they went by. The captain slowed the boat to a crawl so you can get good pictures or video.
It was a very fun and intersting cruise. Good for the kids

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Choochoo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everglades National Park Boat Tours also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Everglades National Park Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing