We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thousand islands tour”

Everglades National Park Boat Tours
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thousand islands tour”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Good boat tour in the thousand islands area of Everglades National Park. The captain did a good job narrating and we saw some dolphins and many birds along with the mangroves.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TfJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    118
    42
    26
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Trip, horrible booking,”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Trust the reviews, don't do this unless you have extremely flexible times.
I 'booked' for 9am on Wed.. they sent me an email confirming me for 3pm that day. That was not an option for me, no refund, they could book me the next afternoon when 4 of the 5 of us could go. We did that.

Guide was knowledgeable and helped us spot Bald Eagles, Manatee, Lots of Osprey including chicks and Adults carrying fish. He also explained the different mangroves etc. Was nice and good with kids.
We did the 6 person Mangrove Boat (not the bigger 10,000 islands boat)
He didn't know quite as much as he thought though... (You can't see manatees on the airboat tour.. we did)

We did do an airboat tour in the same day.. they had a lot of overlap, but were both enjoyable... you can't get much info from the guide on the airboat tour.. but it is more fun...would have been better to do the National Park tour first... so we would have known more on the Airboat Ride.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank caseynshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great nature and bird watching. Up close with dolphins but no gators.”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Six passengers were guided through the mangroves by Paul, a knowledgeable and personable host.. We were in a Boston whaler and began in salt water where dolphins frolicked in the boat's wake. We then headed up river where we saw all sorts of birds and eventually entered a small stream that was encompassed by mangrove growth.

Paul answered our questions about everything and peppered his comments with humor. I'd recommend this tour.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorotea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Cool!!!”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Having seen manatees earlier in the day off the peir in Naples we thought we were cool with them. Wow, when the calf first surfaced near our canoe we thought that was amazing but then it came up again shortly after right by the boat and rolled over onto its side. The park and the Rangers are a great intro to the Everglades. We came away awestruck by the tranquility of the area and the ability to commune with nature.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank leep6802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar,
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day in the Mangroves!”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We, two "mature" couples, have just returned from a perfect day trip to the Everglades! The highlight was our Mangrove Wilderness boat tour. We have been on this before but this time it was outstanding due to our guide, Steve. The weather was perfect and wildlife abundant. Dolphins played around our boat as we left the dock and on our way to the mangrove we had the rarer sight of a group of manatees "getting frisky" as Steve explained. Steve had a wonderful eye for anticipating where and when wildlife would pop up.
Prior to boarding we went upstairs and met Chris Laurie, a park ranger. He was extremely helpful and patient as he answered our questions and pointed out on a visitor map short walks that would be best for the rest of our afternoon.

We unconditionally recommend this trip. No problems with reservations. They were confirmed promptly. Not all guides are equal, try to get Steve.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everglades National Park Boat Tours also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Everglades National Park Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing