We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden delight!”
Review of Island Cafe

Island Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We visit Everglades every couple of years, always stopping to eat something while visiting!
Have normally eaten at one or two spots here, because we seen them standing out in our view!
They were OK, but not something to write home about!
Today, we noticed Island Cafe, the sign says restaurant, souvenirs, gifts, but for some reason, never stood out! We went in, it was quite large inside, with booths and tables, and all kinds of florida nick nacks, and alligators around the place! The menu consisted if nice little appitizers like gator bites, crab cakes, and many other yummys! Anyway, to shorten my story, I ordered a delicious bacon cheeseburger, which sounds so so, because how many times do we order that!
Well surprise!, surprise! We ended up get 2 handmade patties, that looked delicious! It really ,really was!!!! It actually, must have been the best that I have had anywhere else in all of my 65 years!!!!!!
Do yourself a favor while visiting the Beautiful Everglades! Go down to the Island Cafe, located in the small town, on your right, just before getting to the end! You will not be sorry! The prices aren't bad either!!!

Date of visit: April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank disco50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 574 of 866 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stopped for lunch. Granddaughter loved the alligator that greeted us at the door. Lunch was basic food and fine. Wait server was grumpy and not friendly, only time she smiled was when someone said "good-bye grumpy". She never came by to check how things were and one sandwich was incorrect, but we made the best of it. Restaurant down the street had a 20 minute wait and this place had seating available and food was served quickly. Next time we may just hit Subway.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VacationPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Average in need of repair decor for a typical back street eatery. Orders for drinks taken immediately by young guy who managed to completely get the order wrong and had to send four of the seven drinks ordered back. My personal pet negative comment would be that drinks are served in plastic beakers which give the drinks an awful taste. Extremely off putting when the plastic beaker had been chewed around the edges. I have since learned to order a bottle of water... Food much the same as everywhere else. Burger, sandwich, wraps and French fries. I had a mediocre pulled pork (supposed to be served on Texas toast) but came as a sandwich. Was okay as was hungry but nothing to rave about. Friendly staff.

1  Thank nutmeg5629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

fast, friendly, old, southerm florida..good food, probably one of the best places to eat in everglades city. we had a nice, reasonable meal here.

Date of visit: March 2014
Thank hollystarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Food was average, for being frozen instead of fresh seafood. Service was also average for a truck stop atmosphere. The prices were terrible for what you got. I moved here locally, and I'm finding out where NOT to take family when they visit.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BurnoutVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolFoss74, Manager at Island Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Sorry you found our cute little cafe to seem like truck stop atmosphere? Our prices are very competitive and fare and our portions are very healthy. In this business we are not going to please everyone but thanks for stopping in. Good luck on your quest for local places!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Cafe also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Ochopee, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing