We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Prices, VERY Friendly service”
Review of Island Cafe

Island Cafe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Prices, VERY Friendly service”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We ate here after our Airboat tour in Everglades City. The food was good (not 5 star, but you wouldn't come to Everglades City for 5 star dining) it is exactly what we expected out of a place like this. Good local food, friendly local folks, good service, very reasonable prices (mention your airboat tour and maybe get a discount). The fried pickles were very good, so were the gator bites, everything we had was good! I would recommend this place to friends and I would go back for more (again set your expectations, it is not a high end fine dining establishment, but hits the mark dead on for what it is)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenny1773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolFoss74, Manager at Island Cafe, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thanks so much for stopping by! We do offer 10% off of you bill if you mention your airboat ride or if you are staying in a local hotel! We really are grateful for visitors! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    317
    112
    30
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly People, breakfast lunch and dinner”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I liked the waitstaff, the decor, the location and the pizza was surprisingly good. I think it was the ONLY PIZZA in everglades city. Breakfast was very good also. Omelette!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank izquierdista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolFoss74, Manager at Island Cafe, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are the only pizza in Everglades City! Glad you liked it! Thanks so much for coming by and checking us out! Thank you again for you kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We went there because of its convenient location close to our motel. I can't say we had a very good first impression, as we we're greeted and seated without much enthusiasm.
When the time came to order, the waitress couldn't tell us if the ravioli contained meat ("I don't know") and when we asked if she could check the reply was: "They are delivered pre-made". Apparently without a list of ingredients on them, which I find weird!
We ordered the ravioli and my wife had a pizza, and had to wait for quiet some time. When we finally got our food, the explanation given was 'there had been a mix up'... Again strange, we were the only customers there.
Then for the food itself, let's start with the good: the pizza was pretty decent, with a lot of vegetables and baked just right. The ravioli however was another thing: an unimaganitive plate of ravioli covered in a sauce I suspect coming from a store bought jar and then microwaved. I can understand you don't make the ravioli from scratch, but for $16.99 I had expected a lot more.
When the waiter came to the table to ask if everything was okay, he left before giving us the chance to reply...
We definitely would not go there again, and wouldn't recommend going there. It is just to expensive for the food and service you're getting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Island Cafe has the Best Cheeseburgers and Gator served hot and fresh. Friendly staff and great service.

Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolFoss74, Manager at Island Cafe, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you I think we have the best cheeseburgers too! Pretty awesome! Really glad you enjoyed that and the gator!! Thanks again for stopping in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Right next to out motel with a 10% off since we stayed at the motel. Food was very good, staff friendly, coffee cup filled, all was good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolFoss74, Manager at Island Cafe, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed our place!! Hope you make us a stop next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Cafe also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing