We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful memory” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tour the Glades - Private Wildlife Tours

Tour the Glades - Private Wildlife Tours
Ranked #1 of 35 Tours in Everglades City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tour The Glades is the Only exclusively Private tour operator in the Everglades! Quality instead of quantity is our goal...which means our guests receive 100% of our attention. We can only do one (maybe two) trips per day which makes each one very special. This approach is better for the environment and hands down the best way to explore the Everglades....just you and your own personal guide. We provide tours year round and all excursions are led by Native Naturalist Guides that provide EVERYTHING you'll need. Fresh seasonal fruit, cold bottled water and all the necessities are included. You won't need to purchase any additional items because we've thought of everything! We are priced the same as the group tour companies but only do Private Tours because Private is Best. You are our #1 priority.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful memory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Base on the photos and reviews on tripadvisor. I was so looking forward to the do the kayak tour. And it met my expectation in every way. Even my in-laws who had travel lots of countries said it is worth the money and the time.

Our group have 3 tandem kayak which makes it hard to kayak thru the cave. We often pumped into each other and push the other kayak off the track. But it was very fun and a very good family bounding experience.

Todd is the owner and the tour guide. He is very friendly and knowledgeable. He is very patience with my in-laws' endless questions and even gave my little girl a net to play with.

Remember to bring your sunglasses! Other then that you are good to go. Todd provides water, fruits and bug sprays.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristieCheng1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    674
    9
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip to Florida!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We did the 4 hour sunset trip.Tod was not only a great guide but a wonderful person to spend time with. We thoroughly enjoyed a beautiful, peaceful evening.

Helpful?
Thank CanuckAbroad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Memories for life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you are within a 2-3 hour drive you absolutely have to come visit Todd at Tour the Glades. Forget the darn airboats! This is the Everglades up close and personal. The whole drive back to Miami by boys (ages 10 and 7) kept commenting on how great and knowledgable Todd was. Airboats are not ecotourism - THIS is true ecotourism as you get 'gator-level' and truly experience the Everglades. Thank you, Todd. The highlight of our south Florida vacation!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AJNJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A brilliant Evening,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

after looking at the previous reviews we decided to take the evening kayak tour with todd. we had a really good experience going out and enjoying the sunset in the tranquil surroundings before paddling back in the dark using the headlamps.todd was very knowledgable of the area and was very comforting when one of the family members was quite nervous about getting out on the water.todd is a lovely man and we plan on taking another tour with todd next year. thanks for the memories.

paul,cindy,blake and kayla

Helpful?
2 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Tod, the knowledgeable entrepreneur who started Tour The Glades, left a successful career to return home and pursue a dream of owning his own Everglades tour company. Tod's idea, to tour the Everglades in the serenity of a kayak as opposed to the fanboat, provides the perfect way to experience America's largest tropical national park. Most tour companies in the area offer a corporate and impersonal experience, blasting through a swamp on a noisy boat. Tour The Glades does it differently. Tod will take you through the immense mangrove forests, explaining the ecology and history of the area in a 4 hour round-trip. There are birds, fish, and yes, alligators. But mostly, you will experience the Everglades as they were, and have been, for millennia - quiet, tranquil, and isolated.

My boyfriend and I met Tod for a 4 hour sunset tour in late October 2012. The experience was like nothing we have experienced or could have expected. It was just the two of us, something that Tod requires - private, intimate tours with only one booking party per tour. This allows you to get to know the area as well as him, and pursue and focus on the particular aspects of the area that fascinate you. He is knowledgeable about all aspects of the ecosystem and the rich history of the area. When we showed up we were a bit apprehensive about what would be expected of us, but Tod's laid back attitude made us feel completely at ease and he allowed us to move at their own pace. It was an overall amazing trip, definitely worth the 3+ hour drive each way as well as every penny. If you want to experience this natural environment from an up-close and personal view, we would highly recommend it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mzilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour the Glades - Private Wildlife Tours also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tour the Glades - Private Wildlife Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing