We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Visit!”

Museum of the Everglades
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Escape Naples' dazzling pace of development for a day and spend a lazy afternoon exploring the history of nearby Everglades City. Once accessible only by boat, this remote frontier trading town took an ambitious new turn in 1923 as the hub of Barron Collier's personal Southwest Florida real estate empire - with a population of fewer than twelve families. First opened in 1927 as a commercial laundry, today's Museum of the Everglades dates back to a time when construction of the famous Tamiami Trail was well underway and the tiny settlement of Everglades served as the first County seat. The museum's permanent and rotating exhibits provide visitors with an in-depth look at over 2,000 years of human history in the area and tell the story of those adventurous enough - and stubborn enough - to settle Southwest Florida's lush "River of Grass." Faithfully restored to its original, 1920s Collier-era appearance, the museum is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is located 35 miles east of downtown Naples.
Eustis, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Visit!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My family and I just visited this museum, it was great fun! Lots of visual history! The personal are wonderful people to chat with! My kids and I still talk about what we learned and saw there!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    90
    26
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing history”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Enjoyed the small but interesting museum with all the Everglades history. Especially enjoyed the model dredge/shovel on display that was used to construct the Tamiami Trail. In addition the laundry equipment from the actual laundry was interesting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ylre600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Tome
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nobody home!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We showed up at 0900 and found a sign on the door, "Gone to the Post Office, be back soon". Well, thet didn't get back soon and we gave up after 20 minutes.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SaoTomeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderfully done local museum”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The exhibits are well done and well documented, especially if you prefer to read about the exhibits like I do. Really interesting for the local tribes history to how the Tamiami came to be built.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkjdumke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penney Farms, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Small Town Museum Holds a Lot”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

With my "excellent" rating, I am not comparing this to a major, large city museum. However, if you are in Everglades City or the area and would like a relatively quick review of the history of the area, this is a comfortable, inclusive and interesting place to visit. The town has acquired a lot of artifacts and presents history in nicely filmed DVDs and exhibits.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gizzymoidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the Everglades also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Museum of the Everglades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing