We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sue - UK” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Everglades Rentals & Eco Adventures

Everglades Rentals & Eco Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We've been providing novice and experienced paddlers with a wonderful and unique way to experience the timeless, pristine Everglades for more than thirty years. Our family owned business has offered diverse, economical and dependable recreational opportunities for travelers wishing to experience the "real" Everglades. Please join us on one of our guided experiences with an experienced and knowledgeable naturalist guide and experience the fun for yourself!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Anna Maria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sue - UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Brilliant trip. Troy led us safety and knowledgably through the tunnels and along the waterways. We had a terrific time. Troy seemed to have as good time as us and loved telling us what we were seeing. Saw baby alligators (and Mum), which was fantastic! One of the best trips I have every been on, it really felt that we were experiencing what the area is all about. Thank you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    37
    3
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Erps-Kwerps, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Step into that National Geographic documentary in live experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was a most amazing tour!!! We were a family of seven: our five children vary in age 6-14. Our youngest had some paddle experience so he could join! Russell was our guide and he was so relaxed! He knew much about the animals and the history of the everglades. We saw alligators, butterflies, hunting birds, jumping fish and shrimps and lots of flowers and plants!!! It was so peaceful gently paddling through the water. There weren't even mosquitos, because the rain was there every day, making the everglades a river, and mosquitos don't like streaming water! Everything was green and full of life! It was like a tropical rainforest! Only be careful with the paper wasp nest! It is there in a tree, and my son disturbed it with his boat. Fortunately, Russell had all the necessary medication to help him. Russell also provided fresh cool water and some snacks. It was super, because the tour started at 7 am and we had driven for two hours (using a jet lag from our trip from Europe it was alright to get up in the night. We were awake anyway!). I would recommend this tour if you would really want to live nature for real and not programmed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ChantalKortmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kayak into the new day - amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked our tour through the Ivey House Bed & Breakfast (20% discount on the tour, plus no-hassle late check-out) and were extremely happy we picked Everglades Adventures as our operator. Our guide RUSSEL was very, very knowledgeable and you could tell he enjoyed showing us the beautiful flora and fauna of the Everglades. Thank you Russell, and thank you Everglades Adventures.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A must if you visit the Everglades - this REALLY takes you amongst nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were a family of 4 with 2 teenage boys. We had pre booked our early morning kayak trip & airboat ride at the time of booking the Ivey House to stay at. We were very excited about doing this part of our trip & weren't disappointed.
We were ably guided by Troy who was calm & knowledgable which helped put us easily at ease whilst paddling amongst the alligators & then through the Mangrove forests. This was a very special trip seeing the wildlife up close. The tranquility of paddling the waters at your own pace was a lasting memory.
Troy supplied us with water & snacks to keep us going on this 3 hour trip.He even had waterproof poncho's at the ready should the rains arrive! Re the mosquitos, we were all advised prior to our trip what we should wear to help. Luckily for us they weren't too bad & we had bug sprayed anyway.
Troy is passionate about his work which adds to the experience.
If you visit the Everglades then you really should book this trip, you will see it in such a different way & learn so much as you go. The time just flew by.
Later that day we did the airboat ride which was enjoyable in a differnt kind of way. Amongst nature again but in a fast fun way. You are not going to see as much wildlife but its a different way of seeing the Everglades & the perfect end to our 2 day trip there. Our Captain for this trip was again informative having lived amongst it all his life, he knew the area like the back of his hand.
I can't recommend these trips highly enough. If we are lucky enough to go back there - hopefully in the winter we would without a doubt do the trips again to see the Glades in a different season.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Xhe1d1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memorable kayak trip in the beautiful Mangrove forests of Everglades.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

A friend of mine and me went from Norway to Florida on our vacation in the middle of June, and decided to go to Everglades City for one day just to do the "Kayak into a new day-trip." Our excellent and knowledgeable guide Troy took us kayaking through the tunnels of Everglades’s mangrove forests. This is one of the most scenic trips I have ever participated in. We saw a lot of nice birds, exotic fish, spiders and alligators. The mosquitos, which are usually legion, were not to bad either. Our guide provided fresh water and snacks for us, and was very good in informing us on everything we saw. Sun block, shirt with long sleeves, pants and mosquito repellent is mandatory. The Kayaks are very stable which gave me an advantage since I have never padled before, and we were also equiped with life vests. We felt safe at all times. We had a really good time in the mangrove forests and the waters of Everglades, experiencing something we will remember for the rest of our life. I can highly recomend it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffen_W_Holden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everglades Rentals & Eco Adventures also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Everglades Rentals & Eco Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing