We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Everglades Area Tours
from $117.65
More Info
from $90.68
More Info
from $149.95
More Info
from $149.95
More Info
Reviews (1,086)
Filter reviews
1,086 results
Traveler rating
915
113
26
14
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
915
113
26
14
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat assisted kayak tour eco tour mangrove tunnels turner river white pelicans flora and fauna horseshoe crabs chokoloskee island great tour small island everglades area captain dan saw dolphins his knowledge eco system interesting things hour tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,086 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2020

We talked to Charles Wright several years at Canoecopia (the world's largest paddlesport show in Madison, Wisconsin). This was a trip we really wanted to do and this year we finally made it a reality - it was worth the wait! Our 3 day 2 night base camp boat assisted tour was amazing! Our tour was January 5 - 7, 2020 and the weather was perfect. After a boat ride to the outer island of Picnic Key, seeing lots of birds on the way, especially white pelicans, we were ready to set up camp. Our guide was Dan McCumber, who really made our trip the wonderful experience that it was. He was very knowledgeable about the area and plants and birds, and made us very delicious meals, which we sat and ate on the beach. Each evening we had a bonfire on the beach near the shoreline. It was almost full moon, so we sat by a bonfire on a moonlit beach - it doesn't get much better than that!

We dealt with Charles Wright when making our reservations and he couldn't have been more helpful. He arranged everything and answered all of our questions with very quick email replies. He also was the person that took us out to the island with the kayaks and all the camping gear and food and such, and came to pick us up at the end of our tour, although we really weren't ready to leave the island!

We were joined by a father and daughter on the tour, and they were also fun to spend the 3 days with. By the third day, we had enjoyed paddling each day, seeing dolphins play in front of us near our beach, had enjoyable bonfires and lots of great conversation on our beach and while kayaking, excellent food for all of our meals, we learned a lot about the area, even saw a mangrove cuckoo bird at our campsite, and were guided by someone that took care of our every need and made the trip so enjoyable. We definitely would like to do this trip again and highly recommend Everglades Area Tours.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank ElaineH350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles W, Manager at Everglades Area Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour with Don. We are so glad you finally got down here to experience what Charles goes to Canoecopia to talk about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

My husband and I were looking for a tour of the 10,000 islands where we could explore a little bit of everything. Captain Dan is extremely knowledgeable about all of the local animals, flora and fauna. He surpassed all of our expectations for the tour.

We were treated to a three hour adventure. First, was a walking tour along a pristine, remote, shell covered beach. The kayaking portion of the tour led us through a beautiful mangrove canopied water way where we heard stories about many of the local animals. Finally, the boat tour of the local islands was spectacular, with views of many rare birds and even a close encounter with porpoises!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Missteak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles W, Manager at Everglades Area Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review the Boat Assisted Kayak eco tour with Captain Dan. Next time you are in the area you might enjoy the Mangrove tunnel kayak eco tour into the habitat of alligators, wading birds, fresh water species of turtles and orchids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

Jenn was a brilliant guide! Our tour took us about 2 hours. Lots of birds, alligators and unforgettable nature around us! We even went into a mangrove tunnel! I absolutely recommend it! Thanks again, Jenn!

Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles W, Manager at Everglades Area Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour with Jen, glad you had fun on the Mangrove Tunnel Kayak tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

Saw lots of wildlife and alligators. Fun and relaxing. Jennifer was a great guide. Bring water and insect repellent.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank erinday2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles W, Manager at Everglades Area Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour with Jen. Glad you got to see lots of wildlife and alligators.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

What fun!! Educational, too!! Captain Dan was a great guide...quite knowledgeable. For the 1st time exploring the Everglades, it was ni e to learn that it was much more than alligators, airboats and mosquitoes. Captain Dan was professional and had a great sense of humor, too!!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank ctbinva33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles W, Manager at Everglades Area Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour with Captain Dan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews