We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Everglades City Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Stayed 1 night on our road trip around Florida. Were very pleasantly surprised as not sure what to expect. Room had recently been refurbished - all new fittings. Beautiful black marble bathroom. Everywhere was spotless and beds were very comfy. Owners/Managers? don't speak brilliant English but were more than happy to help. There was a lack of crockery and cutlery but whatever we asked for was provided straight away. There are bbq's for guest use. There was still work going on in some of the rooms but this wasn't a problem. Infact it was very peaceful. A very good value for money motel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr&MrsCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
There are newer reviews for Everglades City Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 639 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2009

This hotel was a wild ride. First impression - Gads, what a lovely black granite bathroom - brand new. And look, a lovely kitchenette. But, wait, there are no dishes, glasses or anything. The beds are a bit lumpy. And where do we hang up anything. No closet, no hook, no towel rack - nothing. Ok, it is clean, so lets stay.

Wifi is available - great. But we can only gain access if we put the computer on top of the small frige by the door. I have a picture of my husband straddling the frig, checking our e-mails.

Let's turn on a bit of air conditioning. NO - turn it off, I can't hear myself think. It is REALLY loud.

I run a bit of water into the lovely kitchenette sink and hear a strange noise. Oh, my, the water is all running into the cabinet below. I report the condition to the office and am assured all will be corrected. Later, people move into the adjoining unit. They use their sink and THEIR water runs into the cabinet below OUR sink. We fill the waste basket and throw the water out the door. The office is closed. The water is flowing. Fill the basket, throw the water outside.

Finally, night comes. But, now we hear every sigh and hiccup next door. Be quiet and go to sleep.

Happily, we leave the next day. Nice clean towels, hot water, no bed bugs. What more could one expect for $142.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carjacMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

Driving up it looks like a dive but the rooms have been fixed up such as to be brand new. I think a few rooms are still being worked on. The staff is friendly and they also own Captain Ron's Airboat . The only complaints about the rooms are that there is no place to hang anything though they have plenty of room to install a rod & the air conditioner is loud. The restaurant next door is pretty goob as are several others around town; think Camelia's

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albuquerque_NMGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

We booked this hotel/motel after seeing some of the reviews in Trip-Advisor, now I wish if we did not. On arrival we were allocated room number 2 by a young lady who attempted to communicate with us in English but was not very successful. The room had two beds with very hard but low pillows and very noisy bed even to sit on it. These pillows did not give any support to the neck so when you sleep on your side you will snore. The air-conditioning unit was very noisy and did not decrease the temperature any lower than 75. The fan in the toilet was so noisy and inefficient that it was better without it and keeping the door open while my wife sat outside the room. At that stage we did not notice the total lack of sound insulation between rooms as there was no occupants in both room 1 and room 3. We sought that this would be bordering on acceptable as it was for one night only. We went for the air boat and the dinner in the captain’s table restaurant which was good and returned to the room at 21:30 and noted that the sound from the occupants of all the rooms around us was so clearly heard in our room. We tried to stay awake as long as we could but by about 23:30 unfortunately, I fell asleep and due to the pillows I must have snored for a minute or two to be awakened by loud thumbing noise on the thin wall from the next room. We got out and went the reception but there was no sign of life in that area so we slept in the car. And by first light when the staff from the restaurant next door arrived, I handed them the key to Room 2 and we departed this very unfortunate place.
Some of the basic minimal recommendation for hotel/Motel rooms is privacy; this could not be found in this place. Sound insulation to provide privacy and prevent disturbing guests is as essential to paying visitors as supplying curtains on the windows to protect them from inquisitive eyes. During our tour of Florida this was stop number 5 having stayed in the Crowen plaza Orlando, Hamptons Inn St. Augustine, Hyatt Ft. Laud., Crowen Plaza Key West, and unfortunately this motel. We have had no problems before we got to this place and after we left for another 3 more hotel stay in Florida.
We have paid the same price ($ 142) for this night in the City Motel Everglades as we paid for the Crowen Plaza Key West and we slept in the car for that night, I was very fortunate because we hired a Cadillac Escalade!
The new fitments in the bathrooms should not distract the guests from the downfalls of this hotel nor should anyone be under the illusion that this motel is in any way can be compared to any one or two stars hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshirekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We stayed here for one night in Room #7. The room had been recently remodeled to update it - tile floors, wall hung lcd tv, marble countertops, and a beautiful bathroom. It was just as good if not better than fancy hotels like the hyatt or marriott. The room is pretty sparse with a mini fridge, desk and chair, nightstand, and two plastic chairs out front. The hotel is located in the center of town, but doesn't have any sort of view except of the parking lot. The highlight of staying there was the bathroom. The shower was huge and had great water pressure and an endless supply of hot water. The exhaust fan actually worked and cleared any steam out in no time. That was the highlight of our stay.

The rest of our experience wasn't so nice. The owners were adding on to the hotel next to our room so there was some construction going on during the day. Because of this, the cable was not working. The air conditioner never was able to cool the room to 78 degrees no matter how low you set it. That may have had something to do with the 1/2 inch gap in the wall around the air conditioner and around the door. I don't see how they do not have bug problems with these gaps that you can actually see outside through. The ice maker is located out in the parking lot which made it convenient, but allowed anyone or anything to get into it.

The last straw was when we looked underneath the sink to get some more towels that were lying there. That's when we saw two big holes in the wall were the water pipes come in to the sink. We walked out of our room to the other side of the wall where the construction was and found out that you could see into the bathroom as clear as day. So I'm sure the construction workers or who knows else got an eyeful. This was not what I wanted to be thinking about the rest of the day. I don't know if these openings were made on purpose or not, but i can't think of a good reason for something like this to be allowed to happen. As soon as we found this, we checked out.

Overall, The room was beautiful and clean, but with the air conditioner not working and the peep holes, there is no way I would recommend this place. There are just too many other options in town for the same price.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nach0mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

We stayed here three nights while touring the Everglades. The rooms in this old-style motel have been very nicely renovated. There was a nice kitchen area with microwave, fridge and sink. New bathroom fixtures and counters. The staff was extra-helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

While we had a hard time finding out what hotels were available in Everglades city, we finally did by a phone call to one of the air boat operators. we choose this hotel as they had Internet access. the rooms were a wonderful surprise after seeing the pictures of the hotel. they are bright and roomy and the bathrooms would be a credit to a five star hotel. out only two complaints was that the girl running the desk had terrible English skills and the Internet in the room was spotty (was great sitting out in front of the rooms.)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.4 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.4 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.8 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ivey House
Ivey House
#1 of 5 in Everglades City
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.3 mi away
The Captain's Table Lodge
The Captain's Table Lodge
#2 of 2 in Everglades City
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades City Motel

Address: 309 Collier Ave., Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Price Range: $97 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Everglades City Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Everglades City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades City Hotel Everglades City
Everglades City Motel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing