We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent motel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Everglades City Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent motel and service”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights and although it might look like a regular motel, the rooms are far better and more luxurious and the place is kept very clean. Rooms are big and so is the bathroom and the beds are comfortable. A fridge is in the room, so perfect to store some beers or wine with the warm weather. Very friendly people and the owner/manager did everything to make us feel welcome/home. Explained the best places to eat and we even could borrow his umbrella for the day! Central location in this nice little town. It's not cheap but it's worth every penny!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    299
    57
    17
    8
See reviews for
147
330
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we had stayed here last year and remember it being very nice (sorry no review from last year!) Rooms are spacious and clean and recently refurbished (IIRC they were part way through refurbishment last year, but we did get a 'new' room) They have a large flatscreen TV, microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, etc. Bathrooms have soap/ shampoo dispensers rather than sachets or small bottles and a designer-type basin which looks a bit out of place to be honest, but nice nonetheless.
Front desk staff on both visits were exceptionally friendly and helpul.
You get a discout at the cafe next door which is also very good for breakfast.
We paid alot more for our room this year than last year, perhaps because it was during spring break, or perhaps to pay for the refurbishment!
We'll probably stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadMurdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have stayed in this motel before and we liked it. We were not disappointed this time either. The staff are friendly and seem to go out of their way to help make our stay a pleasureable one.
We stayed for a couple of nights to spend the weekend there. The rooms are nice, you will be surprised since from the outside it doesn;t look like much, but the rooms are spacious and the staff are helpful. we will be back next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adal n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

On the outside this looks like an old motel; on the inside the rooms have been nicely refurbished, and the bathroom especially is more typical of a 3 to 4 star hotel. For cold winter nights it would have been nice if there were a couple of rugs rather than just tile on the floor, and the RVs parked inches from our window weren't especially appealing, but our stay was enjoyable. We'd return here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Our first visit to Everglades City and we chose this motel because of a room was vaialble and reviews were generally good. We chose the suite with the kitchenette to allow us to make our own breakfasts and lunches for our daily outings. The room was clean and certainly roomy but the iarconditioner was so loud that we chose to leave it off. Mercifully the weather was cool enough to not need the A/C during the night, One large window had no screen so it was not an option to leave them open since there were a few mosquitoes. We thought the room was overpriced but since we were there during Feb, it is probably high season and the price was comparable with other motels. The hosts were very friendly and ehlpful allowing us the use of the office phone since our room did not have a phone which surprised us. All in all not a bad place to stay but we have stayed in nicer places for much less.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandMatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massapequa, new york
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Everglades City Motel.

At first look the motel is like thousands of others that I have driven by in my travels. It a rectangle of small, connected rooms open to an asphalt courtyard with a small reservation building at front. We have been led here by Trip Advisor reviews. We arrived in the early evening. A young man checked us in and spent a few minutes suggesting places for us to eat and to visit.

Color photographs of local wildlife adorned the wall of the small area. Unlike the bland color-schemed art of most hotels/motel, these photos caused you to experience something of the animals being. Art in an unexpected location.

Our room was large, clean, bright and well appointed. (I am still trying to figure out why there are no screens on the windows. They can be opened and it's hard to imagine there are no insects). A large flat-panel TV was on the wall opposite the Queen bed. The bathroom was large and well planned with a walk-in shower. The room also contained a small refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, iron and ironing board and a coffee maker.

Bicycles were available for use at no charge. We borrowed two bikes to ride to a nearby market. I was surprised and pleased to note that the bikes were somewhat new, of quality construction and well-maintained.

In back of the registration building was a barbecue area and several groupings of lawn furniture for relaxation.

When I requested some information regarding available beers at the local bars, a friendly woman at the registration desk called around to find what I was seeking.

The recommendations we received upon check-in were quite helpful.

Should you travel this way I recommend the Havana Cafe just down the road on Chokoloskee Island for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had never been to Everglades City before, and were surprised at the lack of a "chain" hotel in the area, but booked this based on reviews on this site. I was a little worried about the "motel" thing, but was pleasantly surprised.
We pulled up in the late afternoon, and the motel looks like any 50's era motel, with parking in front of your room. We went in the office, and checked in with a very nice young man, who also gave us great ideas for dinner. He also told us that there was a "Seafood Festival" this weekend (we stayed Friday night). He was so nice, and gave us all the information we needed for that as well.
I was still a little worried about the room, as the outside looks very old, but as soon as I entered, my fears disappeared. The rooms are updated inside, and very clean. The bathrooms have apparently been completely redone with new fixtures. Oh - there are no tubs - just walk in showers. The towels are nothing special, but adequate. The beds were a bit soft, but my husband and I don't mind that. (we had two queens). There is a little cafe next door that serves three meals a day. We went over for dessert and a nightcap after dinner - it was good, but not much of a selection of alcohol. (very sweet waitresses however) And breakfast was good and fast. The AC unit in the room did a good job, although we were there in February in very nice weather. It did wake me up a few times during the night, because it is a bit loud, especially if you are in the bed next to it.
As others have stated, there is a little kitchen area with sink, small refrigerator, microwave, and table with two chairs. The tv got several cable channels, and is a flat screen, fairly new model.
We would definitely stay here again! The location is good, although you can't really walk to much, but driving is very easy in this very small town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmcrn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.4 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.5 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.8 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Captain's Table Lodge
The Captain's Table Lodge
#2 of 2 in Everglades City
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.4 mi away
Ivey House
Ivey House
#1 of 5 in Everglades City
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades City Motel

Property: Everglades City Motel
Address: 309 Collier Ave., Everglades City, FL 34139
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Everglades City Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Everglades City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades City Hotel Everglades City
Everglades City Motel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing