We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everglades kayak tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shurr Adventure Company Day Tours

Shurr Adventure Company Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 35 Tours in Everglades City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small family business that is recommend by Outside Magazine, Livewell Network, and we have worked with the Kratt brothers from PBS. Our kayak trips are like no other and when you paddle with us, you paddle with friends. Our groups have a small guest to guide ratio. We have a shuttle vehicle, variety of permits and paddling locations, comfortable kayaks (both single and doubles) and all of our guides are professional naturalists excited to share this wonderful place with "you" our guests.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
merrimack
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Everglades kayak tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We went with Shurr Adventure with Justin early in the morning. This trip was one of our highlight trips. It was so good and we loved the Everglades so much we went back the second day to the Shark Valley. I would recommend everyone to try kayaking with Shurr Adventure. No experience required for kayaking, it's very easy especially if you have the tandem!!! (you know what I mean if you're in front). Kayaking is so peaceful, and quiet. We saw birds, fishes, and several alligators (big one). My husband dropped his sun glasses in the kayak and did not know it. Justin tracked us down and brought them to the restaurant where we had lunch.
We loved the trips.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Uri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
1 review
“The Best...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

A Must Do if you are in the Everglades, and, if you're not in the Everglades, find a way to get there. 3- hour tour led by patient, friendly experts (kayakers and naturalists), who love the place, know it well and know how to keep you safe. These are the people to see if you want to experience the Everglades as a natural system. Worth a detour for sure and we will be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Alli and Justin are wonderful hosts! Their friendly and enthusiastic demeanor makes you feel welcomed and excited to start paddling. My dad and I did the Mangroves sunset tour in February. It was his first time kayaking, and he loved it. We saw a wide variety of avian species. Justin and Alli are both extremely knowledgeable. We learned so much about the unique ecosystem of the Everglades. I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting the everglades and the areas surrounding it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Therese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Sweet Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Really people. You need to take this paddle through the Everglades with Justin and Alli. Alli taught us many things we didn't know. We saw so many fantastic birds and bird rookeries that it would make you swoon. This was a big treat for people from California. It's the first thing we share with our friends about our trip. You can be a novice paddler and you will be just fine. We even paddled quietly by a couple of sleepy alligators. Actually, that was what I was looking for the most. And the tunnels. Wow. An amazing experience. Justin and Alli are the perfect people to do these tours. You feel like old friends. Thanks guys.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best thing to do in Everglades!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We did the three hour mangrove everglades kayak with Justin and it was just incredible!
Justin is extremely knowledgeable about the various ecosystems in the everglades region and his enthusiasm and passion for the area is entirely infectious. We were so glad we made the trip down from Orlando to do this trip it was a real highlight of our holiday. Justin provided all the equipment that we needed including water and snacks and really put us at ease. It was a really relaxed tour, and he encouraged us to take as much time as we needed to take photos and enjoy the scenery and wildlife. We saw a huge array of birdlife, plants, crabs and alligators, and we felt very safe at all times. Justin obviously loves his job and this really made the trip so enjoyable for us. You must do this trip if you visit the everglades, it is the most enjoyable and peaceful experience, and you will be glad you did!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shurr Adventure Company Day Tours also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shurr Adventure Company Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing