We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great introduction to the Everglades”

Shurr Adventure Company Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 34 Tours in Everglades City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small family business that is recommend by Outside Magazine, Livewell Network, and we have worked with the Kratt brothers from PBS. Our kayak trips are like no other and when you paddle with us, you paddle with friends. Our groups have a small guest to guide ratio. We have a shuttle vehicle, variety of permits and paddling locations, comfortable kayaks (both single and doubles) and all of our guides are professional naturalists excited to share this wonderful place with "you" our guests.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
“Great introduction to the Everglades”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

As an alternative to the usual tourist destinations, I took my three teenage boys to experience the Everglades. A friend recommended we call Justin and Ali, and we're glad we did. They took us on a three-hour kayaking tour through mangrove tunnels and grasslands. They are both extremely pleasant, accommodating and knowledgeable. Justin shared information about the habitat that reflected his love for and sensitivity to the natural elements. We must have seen well over a dozen alligators but felt confident and safe having such experienced guides leading us. An adventure every family should enjoy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood, MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Up close and personal”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Justin and Alli have provided great tours! We've done several (6) and the Mangrove trip is our favorite. You get up close to many species of birds (which both Justin and Alli are very knowledgeable about) and a gator or two. This is a great trip with kids--especially teenagers. Highly recommend!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MBFurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Guide, Great Trip”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Justin took us on incredible long tunnels through the mangroves, and we saw numerous birds and alligators. Knowledgable guide with a good personality.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank arontendler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Justin was a great guide. We had a wonderful time and saw quite a few alligators! Very thorough with knowledge of the Everglades and local attractions. Kayaks were very comfortable!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
105 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Informative”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A guided trip in kayaks in the Everglades that just could not have been done better. Very informative and knowledgeable guide. Up close with lot's of bird life and some large alligators. The guide loved the work she was doing and it reflected in our wonderful experience and satisfaction. Highly recommended!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank zepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shurr Adventure Company Day Tours also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shurr Adventure Company Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing