We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up close and personal with the Everglades” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shurr Adventure Company Day Tours

Shurr Adventure Company Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 35 Tours in Everglades City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small family business that is recommend by Outside Magazine, Livewell Network, and we have worked with the Kratt brothers from PBS. Our kayak trips are like no other and when you paddle with us, you paddle with friends. Our groups have a small guest to guide ratio. We have a shuttle vehicle, variety of permits and paddling locations, comfortable kayaks (both single and doubles) and all of our guides are professional naturalists excited to share this wonderful place with "you" our guests.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Up close and personal with the Everglades”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Kayaking the Turner river with Alli Shurr as our guide was the highlight of our 14 yr old grandaughter's winter break. Alli went the extra mile to fulfil our request for a custom 4 hour tour. We started from a tranquil early morning in the glades and then watched and listened to the swamp and river wake up and come alive. There were birds and critters of all shapes and sizes. Alli's extensive background, knowledge and educaion was shared with us in such a relaxed way that we never felt rushed and in particular the way that she related to Hannah our grandaughter was wonderful As grandparents in our seventies we never felt intimidated and were comfortable with the entire experience. Alli has a love of nature and the environment that just shines through. An amazing outing !!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I highly recommend a kayak trip with Shurr Adventures. Alli and Justin were very responsive and accommodated us on fairly short notice. Our 25 and 29 year old children visit several times a year and rarely make it out of the backyard or the beach. I was determined to share some of what makes SW Florida unique. We met up with our guide Lara early in the morning and proceeded to the Turner River. Lara was professional and easy going, knowledgeable about kayaking and the ecosystem, and a delight to spend 3 hrs with. We saw alligators of all sizes, a wide variety of birds, and interesting flora. Moving through the mangrove tunnels was a lot of fun. Lara made several recommendations for lunch in Everglades City. We went to Camelia's (don't miss it), and visited the Rod and Gun Club and Chokoloskee. We ALL had a marvelous time!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank whatatrip123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Adventure Fun with a dash of thrill!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a wonderful morning kayaking with Lara, Mother Nature, and GATORS today! The trip is a must do, as you will get very acquainted with the beauty, serenity and excitement that is the Everglades. Lara was a wonderful guide, pointing out everything from turtles, birds, vegetation and all of the gators from babies to 13 ft bulls. I loved her enthusiasm, passion and respect for nature as she escorted us down the river, through the mangroves and back again. Spectacular!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank njcyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous time paddling in the Everglades”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a short vacation in Florida, part of which was an overnight stay in the Everglades and a guided paddling tour with Justin from Shurr Adventures. It was a fairly spontaneous decision to go paddling, mostly because the weather did not look promising and also because my partner was not too thrilled about going near alligators in a kayak, but despite steady rain for most of the tour we had a fabulous time!

Justin and his wife Allie are lovely, down-to-earth people and they made us feel very comfortable and safe, which was good as we had a few people on the tour who had no previous paddling experience. We were only five people, all in single kayaks, and Justin looked after everyone and made sure that they got a good experience. There were plenty of birds, fish and alligators (even baby ones) and we also saw a snake.

As a beginner it is not easy to spot the wildlife, particularly when trying to navigate a boat through a tight spot, but Justin always pointed things out to us well in advance, also to ensure that we did not run over any animals or get too close which might stress them. He also brought a few binoculars so that everyone could take a closer look if they wanted to.

I highly recommend a paddling tour when visiting the Everglades. It is a great way to get in close with the animals without intruding on them too much and having a knowledgeable guide with you means that you get the best value out of your time on the water.

If you book yourself on a trip with Shurr Adventures you won't be sorry. These guys know what they are doing, they care about their environment and, best of all, they are fun!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisearchitekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful & Exciting!!! Yes it is possible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had the pleasure of taking a three hour Mangrove Kayak trip today with 5 others and our guide Lara. We began our adventure as strangers but fast became friends during our tour, sharing the sights of birds, flora and gators!!! Mother Nature provided the sights and sounds, Lara shared her knowledge of the area and the others in our small group added to a very special morning. Thank you to Shurr Adventures, Lara, Justin and Allie Shurr for making a special day easy, comfortable and unforgettable. Their hometown and personal service are what made the experience more special.

Helpful?
Thank Nik3661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shurr Adventure Company Day Tours also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shurr Adventure Company Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing