We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new destination resort with lots of potential.”
Review of The View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The View
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A new destination resort with lots of potential.”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

The website of that resort was enticing enough for us to decide to stay there a night. Next time we visit the area, we will try to stay longer and use it as a base to explore the area including Nizwa. It is a new resort which actually re opened last December 18th. It had operated before for a couple of years as tented accomodations but they have now replaced those as bungalows. The amenities are first class with a very good bathroom with rain shower. The best though has to be THE VIEW! It is perched high above the village of Al Hamra and offers spectacular views including for sunrise and sunset. They are still finishing some constructions including a restaurant next to the infiniti pool and I bet that this place, if properly marketed and managed, will be successful. If you can try to get room 19 or 20 at the far end for unobstructed sunset views. We will stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TequilaPepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    161
    35
    15
    4
See reviews for
97
208
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Visited The View with family who live in Muscat, who had been to the resort previously and all of us were sorely disappointed. There are no longer tents with unspoiled views, shared balconies and fire pits. Instead there are ugly concrete 'pods' (they say pod, I say portacabin), and be warned, not all of these have unspoiled views. Only those at the very front. The decor inside the pods is modern, as if they have attempted to make it a 'luxury' stay. However, the finish was terrible, paint and marks everywhere, the doors didn't close properly and not enough hot water. The lights from the path outside our cabin were so bright they kept me awake. On a positive note, they were spacious and the beds were large and comfortable.

The place was still under construction when we were there which probably didn't help. Bits of pipe everywhere. They were building a pool which looked like it might be nice when finished. The food was average, and the dining area rather dark and gloomy. Unfortunately we had stormy weather when there (which obviously cannot be helped), but didn't help any with our overall experience as we were forced to be indoors most of our stay, plus we had no power on our second day so were unable to shower.

The staff were lovely and obliging but it is definitely lacking that special something, even with an amazing view. Don't expect what you see on the website.....



Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank flea246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

when you say Oman, we say beach, we say turtle, wadis, desert etc,,, i say mountains, mainly mountain of jabal shams, with its beautiful canyon... the View is situated in the middle of nowhere, 1450 m above sea level where you will enjoy one of the best view in Oman, being in the middle of the mountains, feel the nature and find the peace of mind. the staff there are very nice and helpful and the rooms are very relaxing and all has a view... if you are visiting Oman spend one night there and discover the places around like Al Hamra and Jabal Shams, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: i was in room no 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiahayek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

If you go to their site,you expect to find tents,and you end up in new "pods" or "algeco" which are still under construction,nothing being really finished.Sure the location is exceptional,but the new concept they are implementing does not make much sense:it is not a luxury hotel in spite of the price(250euros per night),with a pool that is not usable,and a lot of wires and pipes running in and out of the buildings,no reception hall or bar,no telephone or wifi,which you would expect in any hotel,.
And it has nothing to do with a camp any more,with concrete and iron beams all over.
The restaurant is excellent,and staff nice but rather helpless,confronted to so many things that are not completed

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank francis v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We arrived at the resort expecting to be sleeping in one of 15 tents, we were shown to one of 30 pods. The resorts website needs to be updated. The pods are fine but make sure you get one at the front, comfortable beds, plenty of hot running water. The staff tried really hard and the food in the restaurant was excellent although the selection was limited. The view is fantastic. The bad news is that they are still finishing some of the pods and there is a lot of other construction work at the site though to be fair this did not interfere too much.

Room Tip: Go for the front and whatever you do make sure you book excursions before you go up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthShieldsBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The View is a beautiful property that will be really stunning once all the renovations are complete. The location is spectacular and the staff are very friendly, and food was tasty. There was no heating in the chalet so one night was very cold, but a fan heater was provided the second night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-P_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This 'posh camping' in Oman is decent. Everything is ok, well equipped and kind of cool, however it lacked something to make it great.

The tents were good with proper beds, fire pits at night were good and view is amazing. Food was pretty poor buffet and could be made so much better by offering fresh local food or a BBQ etc. good simple food is better than buffet food.

Good experience though and would recommend giving it a try.

Room Tip: Get one of the tents that look directly over the cliff for the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimJammer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Al Hamra
16.8 mi away
Alila Jabal Akhdar
Alila Jabal Akhdar
#1 of 1 in Jabal Akhdar
764 reviews
22.8 mi away
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
#7 of 8 in Nizwa
34 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jebel Shams Resort
Jebel Shams Resort
#3 of 5 in Al Hamra
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Misfah Old House
Misfah Old House
#2 of 5 in Al Hamra
149 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sama Heights Resort - Jebel Shams
9.2 mi away
Shorfet Al-Alamin Hotel
Shorfet Al-Alamin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Al Hamra
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View

Property: The View
Address: Hail Al Shas | Al Hamra. Ad Dakhaliyah., Al Hamra 112, Oman
Location: Oman > Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate > Al Hamra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Al Hamra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The View is located at 1,400 meters above sea level, driving through 8 kms of winding road from Al Hamra to Hail Al Shas in a 4WD vehicle. We are just 2 1/2 hrs drive from Muscat, 45 minutes from Nizwa and 15 minutes from Al Hamra, it is a perfect getaway with 30 exclusive rooms for a truly relaxed and comfortable stay. It isn't just an 'Eco Luxe' retreat, but an experience where nature holds pride of place. Where service and hospitality is at its finest. It's an ideal port of call for visitors wanting to start adventurous trekking expeditions and excursions towards the peak of Jabal Shams Mountains. The View provides stylish accommodations apart from enjoying a relaxed time by the campfire or taking a dip in the infinity pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The View Hotel Hail Al Shas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing