We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VUE AND SWEET PEOPLE”
Review of The View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The View
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Although or despite the bad weather all the staff was incredibly helpfull and efficient. we adored the place and hope to be there once (or twice) more... it is peacefull the vew is spectaculat and the tents welle kept and very cunfortable.. Thanks to all

Room Tip: any rooms but specially on the front for the vue and terrace private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TOTOEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 451 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

My family and I spent 2 nights in this camp which has indeed a very nice view especially in the evenings and early in the mornings. The tents are quite confortable and include private bathroom with simple shower. The bedding is good quality and obviously there is an absolut quiet atmosphere which make the journey very peaceful.
Price is expensive although it includes a buffet for the dinner (average quality). Very friendly staff, missing are a couple of games for the kids.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabriceetpaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is quite a tricky place to get to and once you get back down and look up you can see just how difficult it is.
The view as might be expected is quite fantastic - provided it's not raining too hard or too cloudy.
The reception you get is friendly, and the tents are very roomy, with en-suite bathroom and a chest of drawers etc
There is even electric on tap.
Food is usually served overlooking the hillside and hopefully the sunset. The food is very good, but no alcohol. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Recommended++

Room Tip: I don't think there is one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I should immediately say that in our case the climb was in a 4x4 rather than on foot or on a bike!
We recently returned from a trip to Oman which included a night at The View. We were of course hoping for a glorious sunset and an amazing view across the valley but instead we got rain and thunder and lightening. However it was certainly a novel experience to be lying in bed in a tent hearing the thunder right above us and one that I wouldn't have missed.
I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodation which was better than I had expected and very clean. The food too was good and we enjoyed eating in the restaurant.
The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome.
All in all I would thoroughly recommend it if you fancy something a little different.

Room Tip: Book a valley view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmm10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

In april 2013 I stayed 6 nights at the View Hotel in Al Hamra / Oman (www.theviewoman.com) 7.5km above Al Hamra, which has the most spectacular view of all hotels in Oman!

It was my base for 6 great mountainbike-tours with Christian Handrich from "bike and hike Oman" (www.bikeandhikeoman.com).
The View Hotel and bike and hike Oman belong both to Zahara Tours, thats why all the bike and hike-tours also can be booked and arranged throug the hotel!

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the food (breakfast- and dinnerbuffet) was delicious and the rooms/tents clean!

Its a very quiet and familar place to stay in clean tents with seperat toilet/shower room.

The area of Al Hamra / Oman (especially this hotel) is very central to explore this region of Oman (f.e. Jabel Shams, Nizwa, Jabreen, Bahla, Wadi Tanuf, Jabel Akhdar, ...) either by bike, hike or car!

The area of Al Hamra offers great and varying possibilities for mounainbike- und walkingtours for beginners and advanced!

I enjoyed very much my stay at this hotel and hope to come back soon again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrico15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as part our tour of the area in Oman, I would really reccomend travelling the mountain route rather than the road network if you are coming from Muscat as we were! Wow wow wow is all I can say, the views were amazing, but we had a 4x4 driven by a guide... Not a route I would drive myself! This camp site is due to be closed and redeveloped in May 2013 we were told, there was going to be a licensed bar and a pool with more tents. It was windy when we were there so if there had of been a pool we wouldn't have used it! We had rain one night, as you are in the mountains with low clouds be award if this as it will wake you up! Food was ok, breakfast was the same each morning with a good range, staff were great and nothing was too much trouble! We took a bottle if wine to enjoy with dinner and that wasn't a problem! One day out water pressure was excellent the second day, I went second and I had no water for about 30 seconds but it was ok after that, it may depend on the time of day your showering, but hey you have your own bathroom attached to your tent! We don't get that in the UK! So I'm not complaining! Overall we had a great time, we enjoyed chatting to the staff after dinner and if your a sociable person they enjoyed this too! I would like to see pictures once its developed I hope it doesn't spoil the uniqueness of this site.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridgelowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have mixed feelings about The View. Without doubt it is all about the location so make sure you get a Valley View tent if at all possible. But be prepared for a 7km drive up a very bumpy track. The tents themselves are to a reasonable standard but the accommodation is actually pretty basic. There are significant water pressure issues which need to be addressed. Sleep quality was very good; the bed was comfortable and the night air noticeably cooler than in the valley below: no need for the air conditioning when we were there. The exposed location means that it got very windy each evening and we imagine that might keep people awake although we slept through until the dawn. A buffet dinner taken in a small restaurant on site is included in the price of the room. The choice is pretty eclectic with a core of Indian or Sri Lankan dishes alongside things like spaghetti bolognese. The largely South Asian staff were invariably welcoming and friendly and in the main we enjoyed the food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Al Hamra
16.8 mi away
Alila Jabal Akhdar
Alila Jabal Akhdar
#1 of 2 in Jabal Akhdar
1,096 reviews
24.7 mi away
Falaj Daris Hotel
Falaj Daris Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nizwa
297 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jebel Shams Resort
Jebel Shams Resort
#3 of 5 in Al Hamra
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Misfah Old House
Misfah Old House
#2 of 5 in Al Hamra
179 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sama Heights Resort - Jebel Shams
9.2 mi away
Shorfet Al-Alamin Hotel
Shorfet Al-Alamin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Al Hamra
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View

Address: Hail Al Shas | Al Hamra. Ad Dakhaliyah., Al Hamra 112, Oman
Location: Oman > Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate > Al Hamra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Al Hamra
Price Range: $232 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The View is located at 1,400 meters above sea level, driving through 8 kms of winding off road from Al Hamra to Hail Al Shas in a 4WD vehicle. We are just 2 1/2 hrs drive from Muscat, 45 minutes from Nizwa and 15 minutes from Al Hamra, it is a perfect getaway with 30 exclusive rooms for a truly relaxed and comfortable stay. It isn't just an 'Eco Luxe' retreat, but an experience where nature holds pride of place. Where service and hospitality is at its finest. It's an ideal port of call for visitors wanting to start adventurous trekking expeditions and excursions towards the peak of Jabal Shams Mountains. The View provides stylish accommodations apart from enjoying a relaxed time by the campfire or taking a dip in the infinity pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The View Hotel Hail Al Shas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing