We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jebel Shams Resort
Nearby Hotels
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alila Jabal Akhdar(Jabal Akhdar)
$737
$561
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$533
$481
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
38
132
93
21
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
132
93
21
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset chaletgrand canyonjebel shamsswimming poolfire pitshower curtainprivate chaletbreakfast and dinnerabandoned villagewatch the sunseta bit disappointedmountain bikeshiking trailsincluded in the pricebasic needsbike routehighest peak
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 287 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Jabal Shams Resort has the perfect location for people who want to go trekking in the Wadi Ghul ("Oman's Grand Canyon"), from a few hours to several days.
Very nice rooms, good food (dinner & breakfast included), good service.
A bit expensive though
And if you only go for short trekks (a few hours), consider arriving early and go trekking in the afternoon, as the sunlight and sun direction will be much better for enjoying the landscape and taking pictures

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillesVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Recently I stayed at Jebel Shams Resort and was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the permanent cabins were. I have visited Jebel Shams previously but never stayed the night.

There are also permanent tent sites on concrete bases; these have shared bathroom facilities separate from the tents. The cabins have twin beds which I found very comfortable, with cozy warm bed-linen; as it was November, the temperature was very cool in the evening, so this was important. The en-suite showers have good water pressure and plenty of hot water. At the rear is a small terrace.

Buffet dinner and breakfast are included in the price of accommodation; the food is exceptionally good and really exceeded my expectations. There is an excellent choice of dishes to choice from, both at dinner and breakfast. At breakfast, a cook is available, to make your favourite omelette or scrambled eggs.

Most visitors to Oman only visit Jebel Shams to view ‘the grand canyon’ but I would have no hesitation in recommending an overnight stay. The area is a wonderful place to relax, to enjoy what nature has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in an Arabian Tent that made the location feel more like a campsite than a "resort". The location near the top of Jebel Shams was beautiful but our stay was disappointing.
The dinner and breakfast buffets were ok. But the shared toilet / shower block was not ok – only 1 male and 1 female shower to cover the 20 or so tents on site meant queues in the morning – and the showers themselves were unclean and only had hot water for the first few users. The bedding in the tent – especially on the extra bed for one of our children – didn’t feel clean. The hotel staff were efficient enough but not especially friendly. The chalets on-site looked like better accommodation but were fully booked when we stayed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twickenham_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The possitive side

1) Above average rooms
2) Reasonbaly clean and neat
3) Average decent food
4) Aircondition with heater facility
5) Hot water available

The Negitive bit
1) Too expensive but I guess you are paying for the location
2) Not too many choices for food
3) Water is bore well so it tastes bad- for drinking you have mineral water
4) No great view from the resort
5) Rooms cannot be compared to any 2 star hotel even. Infact they are very ordinary
6) The Arabic tents are simple and basic- beds here only serve the purpose
7) Common toilets for people who use the tents

You dont have much of a choice on Jabal Shams. I have been coming to this location for the past 10 years its a cold place on top of a mountain where you come to trek, camp the night out with your camping gear. But for those all that sounds difficult Jabal Shams resort offers the perfect solution.

Room Tip: Avoid statying in tents if you travelling as couple.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonySimhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at this resort for only 1 night after doing the ‘balcony walk’ around the nearby Jebel Shams. We were shown all the 3 types of accommodation which they offer and chose the Sunset Chalet in the end because the room is larger and everything in it look newer.

We find the price of the room to be reasonable in this deserted area, which includes breakfast and dinner. We enjoyed the dinner (local savoury dishes with rice) more than the breakfast, which we find to be rather insufficient. There were only both of us and 2 other local families during our stay. Although the food was served buffet style, we think it was catered more to the local flavour since there were more locals than foreigners during our time there.

The sceneries around the resort are spectacular. We can see the surrounding mountains very clearly. There was a lot of work going on around the compound of the resort when we were there and it looks like they were in the midst of building a swimming pool in the large surrounding area.

The staff were all very friendly and polite, although a bit shy. Majeed from the fronk desk, spoke excellent English and was extremely helpful and knowledgeable of the area.

Overall, we think this is a comfortable place to rest after a tiring day out exploring the mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannisze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews