We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confusing menu and cold food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Crispers

Crispers
Ranked #51 of 81 Restaurants in Eustis
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Québec city area
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Confusing menu and cold food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The clerk helped explain the menu to first time visitors. With all the "specials" and options it is very confusing. The soup was, at best, warm, the coffee initially cold (but eventually replaced as hot), and the sirloin tip burger cold. Rather pricey for what we did get.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GLT-LCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    8
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
77 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quick, Not so Tasty”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I needed a quick meal while waiting for a prescription to be filled at the nearby Publix. It was almost 8PM and Crisper's was almost empty. The staff were busy cleaning up but did finally take my order. It was served promptly. I selected a trio of crab chowder, beef & cheese in a lettuce leaf and Asian salad in a lettuce leaf. This is a great concept and the food was presented very artistically. I just wish the food tasted better. The chowder was flavorless and the lettuce wraps were also kind of blah-tasting. I thought the serving sizes were small for the price. It was fast though. Still had to wait 10 minutes for the prescription.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Salads and Sandwiches”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

A good place if you are looking for a fresh lunch that is better than most fast food. I have met up with girlfriends there for a nice clean place to get together and not feel rushed. I consider it a little bit pricey, considering it is only for soup and sandwiches. And because it is also more of a cafeteria style restaurant, even though they do deliver to your table when your food is ready.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good, Tasty, Fresh food!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I always enjoy eating here for lunch. great sandwiches, amazing soup, awesome salads!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CTLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
1 review
“corporate greed ????”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Was looking forward to quick supper at Davenport Crispers on
way home from out of town trip. Passed a few choices of "sit down" dine in restraunts we like but decided on quick, easy, good food. WE LIKE THE FOOD at Crispers.
HOWEVER, to walk in be seated and passed menu in darkened resuraunt was amazing. I was so flustered by it when pressed to order which was almost insantly - a bonus I suppose - I forgot to omit tomato's on my food. Would have IF the place wasn't so dark that I could have easily read the menu. BUT Crispers seems set upon being something they were not initially. Had we opted to dine at a place we expected or wanted to be
waited upon we would have.

There is a relaxation that comes from dining without interruption

I was frustrated that we walked into a place that was not normally a place we tipped and by choosing the very similar to "Panera- type" farethey offer, we were now basically forced to tip. I am disturbed by it because I was remided that the wages for "waitress'' is much , much less than minimum wage because of the tipping involved. (that store also has a large help wanted sign - if indeed true, if my pay was reduced by $ 4.00 an hour I'm leaving as well)

It is my opinion, that Crisper's could find other sources to save money than reduce lighting to unbearable (the ambiance for the lighting does not match the food) I wish I had suggestion on employee salary savings I don't.
Sad.

Perhaps my thought process is incorrect all together. My family sure hopes so. I won't be back anywhere near as often, if at all. I wonder, if we are the only ones.
(The man with 2 young sons next to use was equally confused )

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josey591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crispers also viewed

 

Been to Crispers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing