We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its good not great not bad!”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #18 of 81 Restaurants in Eustis
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Mount Dora, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Its good not great not bad!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Its wonderful if your in a hurry, Texas BBQ its not the service could be improved upon because now with our economy the customer service is important and they should be going out of their way to make that outstanding. They hire kids and they really clearly dont want to be there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    9
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed; Poor slow service.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and his family have been coming to Sonny's for years so I was excited when he wanted to take me here on our vacation. We went at 12:30 for lunch on a Friday.... long story short...They were out of all beef brisket. Who runs out of their main menu item at lunch on a Friday? The salad bar was a MESS and is not worth the 3.99. We had poor service. I know it was their lunch rush but we felt like we were a hassel to them. I even said I had never been there before but no one helped us with the menu and they didn't tell us they were out of brisket until after we ordered. Someone else came to the table to rudely ask us 'what did you want' after our server told us it was gone. It took a long time to get our food; we got pulled chicken and pork instead. The sauces were really good. So at least what we did get tasted alright, even though it wasn't what we wanted - and we had poor service. The table behind us sent back a few things because it was cold and we did hear their server say they were short staffed.... but I don't buy those excuses. Figure it out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fast food quality served slow”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

After eating here this week, I got reminded of why I hadn't visited this Sonny's location in a year or two despite living right down the road. I ordered through the drive through, and there were 3 other cars in front of me. It took nearly 30 minutes from the time I placed my order to receive my food. The meat (pulled brisket) tasted re-heated from the day before, the garlic bread was burnt as were our fries. Two sandwich combos cost over $17, not exactly money well spent. Maybe I never should have ate at 4 Rivers in Winterpark because they set the bar way too high, especially for restaurants in lake county.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sonnys is a great place for family's and large groups”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Sonny's has been one of our family favorites for years and has actually improved on its atmosphere. Waiters and waitresses are friendly and quick to keep your sweet tea topped off. Affordable with our kids meals around $4.99 and adult meals from $7.99. Food is brought fast and the same good quality each time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janflrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The very best place to eat. Great service, fast service, awesome food, great prices. Everything is BBQ. Pork, chicken, beef...lots of it to totally fill you up.
You can't go wrong here!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkiDooGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 
Eustis, Lake County
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing