We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About What You'd Expect”
Review of Golden Corral

Golden Corral
Ranked #37 of 82 Restaurants in Eustis
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Tavares, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“About What You'd Expect”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have been here a few times and it isn't anything that impressed me. I guess they are trying to be new and inventive adding the trio of "wonderfalls". But just as the first one (milk chocolate) it just isn't that impressive to me. There are a lot of choices, in theory but they don't refill them fast enough. In short, if you are dining with people who have a variety of tastes, it seems like a good option. If just two people who like similar things...elsewhere is probably better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    16
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Standard Buffet”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We went there for Thanksgiving Dinner. The price for four of us was about $50.00. Everything was good, as usual, but the stuffing was very soggy. Personally, I prefer a dry stuffing. Other than that, Golden Corral went through 98 turkeys.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RussellGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tons of choices--Something for everyone”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I could write a book on this restaurant, I've been there so many times. It's in my hometown and for a relatively good price (they used to be cheaper) you can get a good, filling meal. You don't have to wait to order and have your meal cooked and brought to you. Plus, buffets are the best bet when you have a picky toddler who you never can predict what she'll eat. Children under 4 are free, so I don't have to pay for food that she may or may not eat. This buffet has a HUGE variety of food. The salad bar has more items than most, including fresh fruit, like strawberries and watermelon. I love their hot, fresh yeast rolls, cornbread, and garlic cheddar biscuits.

You may not love every item on the main bar, but there is something for everyone. Personally, I love the pot roast, mashed potatoes, macaroni & cheese, and steamed broccoli. My husband usually gets a steak cooked to order. My mom loves the fried fish and fried okra. And my daughter likes the plain white rice, corn, mushrooms, and black-eyed peas. The dessert bar is also bigger than most buffets. My only complaint is that the items rarely change. The new "Millionaire's Tart" is really good. I always love the banana pudding. My husband likes the soft-serve ice-cream machine. The best thing about a buffet is if you don't like something--don't eat it--go get something else. And there is plenty more to choose from at Golden Corral.

The worst thing about this buffet is it can be really crowded at certain times, like dinner time on a Friday. I'm talking theme-park-crowded. But the staff always keep things clean and refilled. There's just a lot of people to avoid bumping into. So go at an off-time if you want to avoid the crowds.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

It a self serve buffet affair. A lot of fried food and beef. You get your monies worth here but it not great.. My meal was satisfying and I didn't leave there hungry.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rjhaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rantoul
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ALWAYS OVER EAT”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Met with family living in Ocala for lunch. The food choices are numerious and so good that I have to try a little of each. You guessed it...I always leave stuffed and uncomfortable. The quality and cleanliness of Golden Corral is great. Just have to remember not to eat so much (even though it's hard not to).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LOU ANN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing