We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More To See and Do Than I Thought”

Koreshan State Historic Site
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Estero
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Park open daily, 365 days a year from 8:00 AM until sunset. The historic Koreshan Settlement is open daily from 8:00 AM until 5:00 PM. Camping, hiking, picnic area, playground, kayak and canoe rentals, boat launch on the Estero River, guided historic tours, Sunday Farmers Market, Yoga in the Park Tuesdays and Thursdays. Dr. Cyrus R. Teed's utopian community of 200 followers relocated from New York to Florida in 1894. Dr. Teed took the name 'Koresh,' the Hebrew translation for Cyrus, meaning shepherd. The colonists believed that the entire universe existed within a giant, hollow sphere. They conducted experiments that seemed to confirm their beliefs. The Koreshans built and operated a printing facility, boat works, cement works, sawmill, bakery, store and hostelry. Education, science and art also helped shape their community. After the death of Dr. Teed in 1908 at the age of 69, membership of his religious group began to decline. In 1961, the four remaining members deeded 305 acres of their land to the state of Florida as a park and memorial. The Koreshan Unity Settlement Historic District is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“More To See and Do Than I Thought”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This park has preserved buildings from the religious sect that lived there. But it also has a beautiful nature trail along with lovely grounds. The buildings are restored beautifully and it was a very interesting visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dianeinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    151
    32
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really something of amazement....”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

To realize that all these people from Chicago in 1894 uprooted themselves from the comfy living and hacked through the jungle to make another life for themselves. Yeah, Dr. Teed was wrong about his beliefs, but he had a dream and he and his followers lived with rules, morals, values and scruples.They worked hard and built a self sustaining village in the middle of nothing. I would go visit this again.....the scenery is old and absolutely beautiful. It is an idyllic setting to be sure.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank YakkerBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've lived here for 12+ years and driven by here MULTIPLE times. The only reason we went in one day is because we had decided to get out of the house for a few days so we took our RV into the campground here. Long story short, we've been back a few more times and are even going back for 4 nights this week. It's only about 15minutes from where we live and we're so glad we finally stopped. The people couldn't be nicer! seriously, I don't think they could, the nature trail is really fun to bike or walk not to mention multiple GORGEOUS areas with sitting benches for a quiet rest or relaxing book time. We happened to be camping here during their annual Ghost Walk this year which was really cute and informative. Your guide takes your group on a candle lit tour and, in between scenes where volunteers act out a piece of history in costume, you're given additional info by your guide. This history of the place is a must for anyone who lives here and if you're just driving through you'll be glad you stopped. I think they said there's 13 paid employees and the rest of them (over 60+ if I remember right) are all volunteers.... each and every one of them take GREAT PRIDE in this place. Understandably. Btw get a pamphlet (or look online) because they have a lot of different events happening here regularly. Just wish they'd do something a little more appealing along Hwy 41 to draw the attention they deserve. (oh, one more thing. I LOVE how easy it is to check campsite availability and make reservations online. This place is super efficient at every angle.)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CminiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A nice trip . Lots of history Old buildings, gardens & plants. Walking is easy & there is shade too. Children might not be as interested

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dani b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My favorite place”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Koreshan history is a bit quirky. Amazes me all those scholarly people reaching out to such extreme beliefs. At least they went for what they believed in. Must give them that credit. The landscape is worth the trip and the canoe down the river is worth it even if they did charge a lot more which they don't. It is very cheap to rent a canoe. Bamboo everywhere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsychant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koreshan State Historic Site also viewed

Estero, Southwest Gulf Coast
Estero, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Estero, Southwest Gulf Coast
Estero, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Koreshan State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing