We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Ribs”
Review of Rib City

Rib City
Ranked #12 of 113 Restaurants in Estero
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Pompano Beach, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Ribs”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My son loved his ribs. I had the BBQ pork sandwich served on Texas Toast. It had great flavor but I don't like fat on my meat so I had to pick off the outer ring. It was tender and yummy other than my fat phobia. The coleslaw was delicious. I would go again and get the ribs or turkey.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4Jays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    63
    25
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
249 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Rather Medicore”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The best part of this place is that it was within walking distance of our hotel ( Embassy Suites). The restaurant was rather empty yet we were seated right by both the kitchen entrance and the doorway to the outside patio (this contributed to many bugs in the general area). Service was neither good nor bad - a little bit of attitude because I ordered water to drink. The food was just ok - nothing special. I would not go back again unless I was staying at the Embassy Suites and I was too tired to drive any place else but I probably would just stay put an eat at the hotel. I wish I had done that this time around.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I am a resident of Estero and I am completely embarrassed for this place.
I had a party at my house and chose them For a few slabs of ribs and some beans.
First of all they handed me a tinfoil container with all my ribs in it with no cover.
When I got home the jug of beans was all liquid with no beans inside.
DO NOT GO HERE.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markmark239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Ok”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

As with other reviews my ribs were on the dry side. Cole slaw very good. First time in a Rib City. Thought the decor was average at best. Had better ribs at Ruby Tuesday which doesn't say a lot.

Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A real pleasant surprise”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I had flown into Ft. Meyers Airport and got to our Embassy Suites hotel in Estero and we were tired. When it came time for dinner, we decided to try Rib City which is literally right across the street from the hotel. We were reluctant at first because this was a chain restaurant and been didappointed many time by chain restaurants with good looking menus and disappointing food.

Well forget all that at Rib City Estero. The menu had a wide choice of BBQ entrees; all the normal suspects: pulled port,chick, ribs. We ordered a pulled pork plate and a BBQ chicken half. Both were excellent. The chicken was nice and moist with good flavor and the pulled pork excellent. Each dish came with two side dishes. Their slaw is delicious.

There are also three BBQ sauces on the table; a basic sweet BBQ sauce, a mustard vinegar based suace and one other.

Good service, clean establishment and priced reasonable. Out dinner was $25 before tip and no drinks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rib City also viewed

Estero, Southwest Gulf Coast
Estero, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Estero, Southwest Gulf Coast
Estero, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Estero, Southwest Gulf Coast
Estero, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rib City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing