We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Dog Friendly”
Review of White Elephant Pub

White Elephant Pub
Ranked #43 of 109 Restaurants in Englewood
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good for Dog Friendly”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stopped in because it was listed as pet friendly. It was and the view of the harbor is nice. Both the hostess and waitperson were friendly. It's right across the street from the beach so expect very casual atmosphere. Parking may be a bit tricky during prime times. You may have to pay to park in the beach parking area. Lots of live music and cold drinks so don't worry about the food. Burgers and such are fine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesonPowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    170
    141
    60
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good For Drinks, But Not Food”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We ate dinner one evening here, and really enjoyed the tropical drinks served at the White Elephant, but the food was not very good. The fried grouper that I ordered was overly cooked and greasy, and the broasted potatoes were almost mushy on the inside. The atmosphere was fun as many people were singing karaoke. We will return for drinks and music, but definitely not for the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank volsandshoesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great St. Patrick's Day trip!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Five of us took a boat ride and docked right up to the White Elephant for St. Patrick's Day, 2013. The bar ownership must have Irish roots because, to our surprise the place was packed with green-donned patrons, and even Irish band and dancers! A rather fun day to say the least! Great food (had the fish and chips, appropriately) and service. The location sits within a cove looking out to Lemon Bay. A perfect spot to enjoy a good lunch or dinner on the water.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ate on the deck by the water and enjoyed it”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

A good place for lunch. We enjoyed the music and the food. Waitress was fast and friendly. We had a table right by the water and enjoyed the boats going by. We recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank RalphCramdonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mid day music, food and drinks”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

After an enjoyable day at Stump Pass State Park (viewing the breeding pair of Great Horned Owls) we stopped at the White Elephant Pub for a late lunch. Great music (when the guitar player would stop talking about his life) flowed over the open deck area (protected from the wind this time of year by a wall of plastic that did not distract from the views of the harbor) to our table next to the water. The service was bit slow, but who cares as long as the drinks are filled. The boiled shrimp had great flavor but the shells stuck to the meat making them difficult to peal (could be old shrimp or over cooked, I never figured out that one even living in Annapolis), sent them back for a Ruben (great choice), broasted chicken was nice as well!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonZinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Elephant Pub also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to White Elephant Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing