We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zeke's Uptown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zeke's Uptown Grill

Zeke's Uptown Grill
Ranked #13 of 105 Restaurants in Englewood
Price range: $4 - $28
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in Uptown Historic Olde Englewood Village, Zeke's is an eclectic Casual Modern American Gourmet Bar & Grill. At Zeke's Uptown you will find a variety of ethnic or geographic flavors and styles (isn't that what "American" really is). When the FOOD is what matters, we select Natural Beef, Pork, Poultry and Seafood that is fresh, Antibiotic Free, Hormone Free, Non-GMO and our vegetables are Natural or Organic products. All are sourced from Local Farms, Fisheries and Purveyors whenever possible. We have a large Gluten Free Menu, cut all of our meats, seafood and poultry; make our own mozzarella, buttermilk biscuits and cinnamon rolls fresh daily and every meal is prepared to order. We want our guests to come and relax, take time to savor great flavors, share a fine wine and good conversation with family or friends. We're family owned and operated and are here to serve you what we hope you will find to be a superior meal and value. We're human, so we're not perfect...But we will always try to make you feel like a part of our extended family. Don't hesitate to ask us anything and we'll do our very best to accommodate you. Recent Awards Include: Bon Appetite's 2015 Best Daytime Dining Restaurant and The Englewood Sun's 2016 Best of Englewood, Best Burger Award.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Zeke's Uptown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I love this place, they have the most awesome food and best price by far. I would definitely call this your Cheer's Bar/Restaurant where everyone knows your name. Love Love Love

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ddchesnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crytopean, Owner at Zeke's Uptown Grill, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for the kind words. It means everything that you enjoy your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    103
    40
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“First time there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Have been to the other Zeke's. Definite difference in the food. Both locations have good food. One bar/dock type food and this Zeke's a higher end type. I think they are still working out the kinks of a newly opened restaurant. I ordered a beer and it was poured right away and then sat on the bar while waiting for the server to bring it to me.

Seems like they have an air conditoning problem. It was really warm in there. Warm enough that when we sat down I thought about leaving.

Helpful?
Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crytopean, Owner at Zeke's Uptown Grill, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for the review and coming to see us. Just want to let everyone know that we had the one year old AC system serviced and cleaned before opening and that we keep the thermostat on 70 degrees......all night long and it's just not enough. Fortunately, because of everyone's comments, the landlord has agreed to add more AC tonnage in a split system sometime in the next week or so. The big fans we also added helped, but not quite enough....so thank you all for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
588 reviews
562 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,783 helpful votes
“FOOD OK, SERVICE EXCELLENT BUT PLEASE FIX AIR CONDITIONER”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Last night I went with 3 of my friends for a drink and some snacks here after the Lemon Bay Theater - Kids Show was spectacular by the way - and I had not been since they opened in this location. Their food has always been excellent at the other place, but I must say I ordered the soft shell crab sandwich and was a bit disappointed. The waitress Jill was awesome, and the drinks were very reasonably priced. This is the middle of summer, folks, it's not right to have that air conditioning not set for the comfort of your customers. It was just way too uncomfortable. Hope they fix it quickly because the people that are here year round are used to comfort.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mamamia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crytopean, Owner at Zeke's Uptown Grill, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for coming to dine with us, I'm sorry you were disappointed with the Soft Shell Po Boy. We've had a lot of positive response on all 3 of our soft shell crab dishes. Only one customer has told me that they prefer the northern style of cornmeal dusted and pan fried over the tempura battered and fried soft shell that we do. I am always interested in understanding what you did or didn't like about it.....or think we could do to make it better for you.

I'm in the kitchen for lunch and dinner Tuesday through Saturday or you can even email me dwentzel-at-zekesuptown.com or respond through Trip Adviser as well. Thanks again..and just so you know the landlord has just agreed to put additional tonnage onto the AC system to try to make things more comfortable as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Zeke's Uptown is the best in Englewood.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Just came home from Zeke's Uptown. The place and the food is the best I have had since moving to Englewood. Yes we still like Zeke;s (Snooks) for the water front views, but the food here is excellent. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carozrioka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crytopean, Owner at Zeke's Uptown Grill, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
I can't tell you how much it means to us that you have enjoyed our new food. We knew without the gorgeous sunsets of our other place, we'd need to create a menu that would make up for it. Once we've got all of our team comfortable with the new large menu and full liquor, we hope to begin daily Chef specials by mid-September as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Attention to Details”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was our first visit to Zeke's Uptown which relocated to the corner of Dearborn and New York in July. It was their grand opening the evening we were there and the restaurant was brimming over with customers. Despite how busy they were, we received excellent service. My friend and I shared the crab entree and ordered an additional Caesar Salad, plus sweet potato fries which were lightly seasoned with butter and brown sugar; very tasty! The crab cakes were seasoned with red peppers and other seasonings, enough to give the crab a nice flavor; plenty of crab and little filler. Excellent! The fellows had sandwiches and waffle fries; they are ready to go back! Zeke's pays attention to details. The only con was the noise level which was high when we were there. if you prefer a quieter atmosphere you may want to choose outside seating. Thumbs up to the new improved Zeke's!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jwilli05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeke's Uptown Grill also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Zeke's Uptown Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing